FFA Cup report: Glory (3)1-1(4) Victory

Melbourne Victory booked a spot in the FFA Cup Round of 32 after a 4-3 penalty shoot-out win over Perth Glory on Wednesday.


The encounter between two youthful sides at Marden Sports Complex in Adelaide finished locked at 1-1 after Lleyton Brooks’ stunning early opener was cancelled out by Joshua Anasmo.

But Victory goalkeeper Jerrad Tyson, making his Club debut, made two saves in the penalty shoot-out and another debutant, Anthony Leban, tucked away the winning spot-kick to send Victory through.

Victory made a dream start with the game’s opening goal inside 40 seconds.

Brooks received a pass from Robbie Kruse before unleashing a long-range effort past Perth goalkeeper Cameron Cook.

Victory continued to push and Francesco Margiotta, making his first Victory start, saw an effort on the turn deflected wide midway through the first half.

Perth equalised in the 26th minute as Anasmo scrambled in after his header from close range was initially saved by Tyson.

Margiotta forced Cook into a low save six minutes later before Kruse headed a Brooks cross wide following a strong run from Marco Rojas.

Victory continued to look the more likely to score, although Perth also had its moments as the teams went into the break level.

Introduced off the bench, Nishan Velupillay almost had an immediate impact, forcing a save from Cook in the 67th minute.

Soon after and William Wilson, making his debut, was also denied by Cook as Victory pushed for a winner, but extra-time followed.

Velupillay continued to look dangerous and the attacker fired wide from 20 yards four minutes into extra-time.

The 20-year-old was the most threatening player on the pitch, but penalties were needed to separate the teams.

Tyson saved from Aiden Coyne but then blazed his own penalty wide, before making a strong stop from Giordano Colli, and Leban stepped up to send Victory through.

Key moment

Player in focus

Tyson had little to do on debut, but was at the forefront during the shoot-out. The goalkeeper first saved a penalty then missed one of his own, but his stop to deny Colli proved decisive.


Victory moved into the Round of 32 and will face Adelaide City at Marden Sports Complex on December 1.


FFA Cup 2021 play-off
Perth Glory 1(3)
(Joshua Anasmo 26′)
Melbourne Victory 1(4)
(Lleyton Brooks 1′)

Perth Glory: Cook (gk); Formston, Muir (McDougall 97′), Coyne, Forde; Colli (c), Donnell, Edwards (Leader 97′); Vecchio (Rawlins 66′), Anasmo (George 76′), Zimarino (Bramwell 97′).
Melbourne Victory:
Tyson (gk); Bello, Lupancu, Anderson, Nigro; Barnett, Kirdar (Leban 116′); Rojas (Velupillay 66′), Kruse (c) (Wilson 66′), Brooks (Lethlean 89′); Margiotta (Lawrie-Lattanzio 66′).

Yellow cards: Kirdar 30′, Edwards 49′, Anasmo 74′, Lawrie-Lattanzio 110′, Leader 112′
Red cards:
Attendance: TBA
Venue: Marden Sports Complex

Next up

Victory is at home for the first time this season, hosting Brisbane Roar at AAMI Park on Sunday. Tickets available here.