Jake Brimmer takes out Victory Medal 

Melbourne Victory midfielder Jake Brimmer has capped off a brilliant season by taking out the 2021/22 Men’s Victory Medal. 

The 24-year-old added the Club’s highest individual honour to the Johnny Warren Medal and the Mark Viduka Medal to round out a break-out season for Brimmer in all competitions. 

Brimmer joins Alex Chidiac as the Club’s Victory Medalists for the season, also taking out the Player’s Player Award like his midfield counterpart. 

Nick D’Agostino took out the Club’s Golden Boot Award, Marco Rojas was awarded the Goal of the Season for his effort against Melbourne City while Nishan Velupillay was awarded the Young Player of the Year at the Club’s awards night at Crown. 

Brimmer said he was honoured by the accolade, thanking his teammates for their support this season. 

“I’m incredibly proud to be the Club’s Victory Medalist this season. It has been a big season for everyone involved at the Club and I’m pleased I could play such a big part in it,” Brimmer said. 

“Last week’s Johnny Warren Medal was an honour for me to be named the best player in the league but to be recognised by the coaches and my peers for my work at the Club is just as special. 

“I’m proud of this group of players and what we have achieved this season and all these awards wouldn’t be possible without them. This season had many highlights but I’m looking forward to creating more with this group moving forward.” 

Head Coach Tony Popovic also congratulated Brimmer for the award, saying he was pleased to see the midfielder’s continued development. 

“Jake has been excellent this season and his hard work and attitude on and off the field has led to this type of recognition tonight as the Victory Medalist and last week as the Johnny Warren Medalist,” Popovic said. 

“I’ve seen Jake develop as a person and a player and now he’s becoming a leader in the squad with his actions. The goal for him now is to continue these foundations and be the best player he can be.” 

Brimmer took out the Victory Medal ahead of Jason Geria and Roderick Miranda. 

Full Victory Medal winners: 

Men’s Victory Medal: Jake Brimmer 

Women’s Victory Medal: Alex Chidiac 

Men’s Player’s Player: Jake Brimmer 

Women’s Player’s Player: Alex Chidiac and Claudia Bunge 

Men’s Golden Boot: Nick D’Agostino 

Women’s Golden Boot: Catherine Zimmerman 

Men’s Young Player of the Year: Nishan Velupillay 

Goal of the Season: Marco Rojas vs Melbourne City 

(Women’s winners were awarded in March after the completion of the A-League Women’s season)