Kayla Morrison awarded Victory Medal


Melbourne Victory star Kayla Morrison has been crowned the W-League Victory Medallist after an impressive season.

Morrison enjoyed a stellar maiden campaign in the Westfield W-League, helping Victory clinch its second championship.

The 24-year-old was also crowned the club’s Players’ Player of the Year.

“My first season has been absolutely unreal,” said Morrison, after receiving her first award of the night.


“I feel so lucky working with the girls, the coaching staff and everyone who has helped.

“I have nothing but thanks and gratitude for everyone who believed in me,” said the Victory Medallist.

The centre-back played every minute of the season, forming one of the strongest defences in the league.

Alongside Claudia Bunge in the heart of the defence, Morrison was superb throughout the campaign.

Morrison’s performances, and those of goalkeeper Gaby Garton, captain and left-back Angela Beard and right-back Polly Doran, helped Victory keep eight clean sheets.


That foundation allowed the club’s midfield and attacking stars to shine on its way to the Westfield W-League championship.

Morrison also got on the scoresheet with a great header in a 2-0 win over the Newcastle Jets in February, while she also contributed two assists.

She ranked third for total passes in the Westfield W-League with 749.

Victory forward Melina Ayres clinched her first Golden Boot with the club after scoring eight goals in 14 games, including a Semi Final hat-trick against Brisbane Roar.


“Thanks to everyone at the club and to Jeff for putting his faith in me for another season,” said Ayres.

“Thank you to the girls. I feel like I was in the right place at the right time – on the end of some good crosses and build-up play and this one is for my dad who has watched me miss a lot more than I’ve scored,” said the Golden Boot winner.

W-League Victory Medal: Kayla Morrison
Players’ Player of the Season: Kayla Morrison
Golden Boot Award: Melina Ayres


Final W-League Victory Medal leaderboard:

Kayla Morrison – 35 votes

Kyra Cooney-Cross – 32 votes

Gabriela Garton – 19 votes

Lisa De Vanna – 17 votes

Melina Ayres – 14 votes