Melbourne Victory signs Portuguese legend Luis Nani

Melbourne Victory is pleased to announce the signing of UEFA Champions League and European Championship winner Luis Nani for the 2022/23 Isuzu UTE A-League season.

The 35-year-old will start his journey at the Club for the 2022/23 campaign from Italian side Venezia, previously playing for some of the giants of world football – including Sporting Lisbon and Fenerbahce, along with Manchester United, where he made over 100 appearances.

The former Portuguese international has also amassed 112 caps for his national team, representing the Selecao at the 2014 World Cup, as well as the 2008, 2012 and 2016 UEFA Euros where he became a European Champion.

The four-time Premier League champion will join Melbourne Victory on a two year deal as the Club continues its preparations for the 2022/23 Isuzu UTE A-League season.

Head Coach, Tony Popovic said the forward will bring enormous energy to the Club and the league and his signing is exciting for Australian football.

“We’re proud to be able to recruit a player like Nani to our Club and believe he will be an incredible asset for Melbourne Victory and the entire A-League,” Popovic said.

“He has enjoyed an incredibly successful career at both club level and international level and we believe his quality and experience will be key in achieving our ambitions this season.”

Nani was thrilled to be heading to Australia to join the Victory.

“I’m excited to be coming to the A-League with Melbourne Victory and I’m looking forward to the challenge ahead,” Nani said.

“I have spoken with the coach, Tony, and I know that Melbourne Victory is a Club that wants to achieve success and I want to play a role in helping the team achieve that.

“From what I have seen, the fans in Melbourne are not only the best in the league but they rival the atmosphere in Europe and I’m looking forward to being a part of that on the field in a Victory shirt and playing for them this season.”

Nani is the Club’s seventh new signing of the 2022/23 pre-season, joining Tomi Juric, Paul Izzo, George Timotheou, Noah Smith, Eli Adams and Ahmad Taleb alongside the re-signings of Rai Marchan, Will Wilson, Leigh Broxham, Matt Spiranovic and Jason Geria.