Road to the W-League championship

Melbourne Victory

Melbourne Victory clinched its second Westfield W-League championship after a stunning 2020/21 campaign.

A 1-0 extra-time win over Sydney FC at Jubilee Stadium on Sunday saw Victory to its first title since 2013/14.

We take a look back at the season that was.


Round 2: Victory 0-0 Roar
Victory started its season with a goalless draw at home to Brisbane. The encounter was soured by a season-ending knee injury suffered by Natalie Tathem.

Round 3: City 0-6 Victory
Victory kick-started its season with a 6-0 thrashing of City at CB Smith Reserve in January. Annalie Longo and Melina Ayres put Victory ahead before it ran away to claim the biggest win in the history of the Melbourne Derby. Lisa De Vanna scored a wonderful individual effort before Amy Jackson, Catherine Zimmerman and Kyra Cooney-Cross netted.

Round 4: Victory 2-3 City
Another Derby followed a week later, but Victory fell at Epping Stadium. Superb goals from MelindaJ Barbieri and Zimmerman had brought Victory level before it was beaten.

Round 5: Roar 6-0 Victory
A second straight loss followed for Victory, which was well beaten by Brisbane on the Gold Coast.

Round 6: Adelaide 0-1 Victory
Victory had fallen to back-to-back defeats ahead of a trip to Adelaide in late January. But it produced a gutsy performance against the Reds and Zimmerman’s 78th-minute winner started an unbeaten run

Round 7: Victory 4-2 Jets
Victory headed to Morwell in Round 7, hosting the Jets. It produced a strong first half as Ayres, Claudia Bunge and Cooney-Cross scored before Ayres’ late sealer.

Round 9: Jets 0-2 Victory
The teams met again in Newcastle less than a fortnight later. Victory delivered a professional performance, winning on the back of goals from Kayla Morrison and Zimmerman.

Round 10: Victory 1-1 Canberra
Angela Beard’s first goal for the club put Victory ahead, but it was held to a draw despite having the upper-hand for the most part.

Round 11: Victory 1-0 Wanderers
In a topsy-turvy season, Victory’s clash at home to the Western Sydney Wanderers in March was moved from Lakeside Stadium to AAMI Park, where it was played behind closed doors. Longo volleyed in what proved to be a 43rd-minute winner as Victory again stepped up despite the change.

Round 12: Glory 0-1 Victory
A trip to Perth proved difficult, but Longo tucked away a second-half winner after being set up by Cooney-Cross.

Round 14: Victory 6-0 Glory
It was a different story 12 days later. Ayres and Cooney-Cross scored braces either side of goals from Bunge and Zimmerman in a clinical performance.

Round 14: Sydney 2-1 Victory
Needing a win to claim the Premier’s Plate, Victory was beaten at Cromer Park despite a wonderful late strike from Cooney-Cross.

Semi Final: Roar 2-6 Victory
Victory moved into its third Grand Final and first since 2013/14 after another clinical display. Ayres scored a hat-trick, De Vanna netted a brace and Zimmerman also struck as Victory reached the decider.

Grand Final: Sydney 0-1 Victory (aet)
Cooney-Cross and De Vanna hit the crossbar for Victory at Jubilee Stadium and the visitor was repeatedly denied by Sydney goalkeeper Jada Whyman. But the winner came in the 120th minute through Cooney-Cross, who curled in directly from a corner to lift Victory to its second championship and first since 2013/14.