No upcoming games
Future matches are yet to be scheduled
No upcoming games
Future matches are yet to be scheduled

Please update your browser

Unfortunately you cannot view this website on the current version of your browser. Please either update your browser or use an alternative browser.

Aug 15, 2010   |  2:39AM AET

Victory upset by Perth

Victory upset by Perth

Perth Glory recorded their first ever Hyundai A-League win in Melbourne on Saturday night with an upset 2-0 triumph in front of a crowd of 20.358 at AAMI Park.

Perth Glory recorded their first ever Hyundai A-League win in Melbourne on Saturday night with an upset 2-0 triumph in front of a crowd of 20.358 at AAMI Park.

Perth Glory struck in the 23rd minute through Jamie Harnwell. Robbie Fowler swung in the corner to the far post where Jamie Coyne headed it onto Steven McGarry who kicked it back into the path of Harnwell to demonstrate cat like reflexes to guide it into the back of the net.

Perth increased their advantage in the 49th minute through Mile Sterjovski. Todd Howarth with a wonderful run after getting past Grant Brebner, he laid it off to Robbie Fowler who was tackled. The ricochet went onto the path of Sterjovski whose low left foot blast from the edge of the box beat Michael Petkovic inside his near post.

Melbourne Victory named an unchanged line up for their first match at the new stadium, while Perth Glory promoted Howarth at the expense of Branko Jelic.

Both teams signalled their intentions early with Adrian Leijer and Tando Velaphi colliding in mid-air in the second minute. Perhaps the seat belt on the Victory strip was appropriate. That set the scene for the rest of the match with both teams being fully committed in their endeavour to win possession.

Victory had a golden opportunity in the fifth minute. Leijer sent a beautiful through ball to Surat Sukha who ran to the far post but his centre to Mate Dugandzic had too much on it.

Perth rallied in the seventh minute with Sterjovski crossing into the box. Fowler let it run to Howarth who tried to loop it over Petkovic, but the shot stopper doubled back to palm it over the bar. The resulting corner was well flighted to beat Petkovic but it struck the cross bar and was cleared to safety.

In the 16th minute Tom Pondeljak put through Leigh Broxham but he was fouled by Jamie Coyne who was lucky to escape a caution from referee Gerard Parsons.

After going up 1-0, Perth had another glorious opportunity in the 26th minute when McGarry laid the ball off to Howarth on the overlap, but Kevin Muscat ran back in time to block the shot.

Victory had another opportunity in the 39th minute with Pondeljak threading the needle with a brilliant pass to Sukha on the right side of the box. Sukha ran in towards the near post with his shot being saved by Velaphi after striking the post.

Just a minute later, Leijer from outside the box saw Velaphi off his line and tried to chip him inside his far post but his effort was just over the cross bar.

As per last week, the Victory made a half-time change with Billy Celeski coming on for Sukha, but went down 2-0 four minutes into the second half.

Melbourne tried to fight back in the 56th minute when Dugandzic-s lay off set up Broxham, but his shot was well over the bar.

Merrick rolled the dice in the 63rd minute for Victory as he brought on Marvin Angulo for Pondeljak.

With Perth sitting on a two goal buffer they began to push back and defend their lead with the Victory striving to get back into the game.

Melbourne had a good opportunity to strike back in the 74th minute. Angulo was brought down 10 metres outside the box. Carlos Hernandez took a wonderful free kick aiming it low and hard to Tando Velaphi-s bottom left corner, but somehow the Glory keeper-s outstretched arms managed to get enough onto it to palm it away.

Victory made their final change in the 77th minute when Ferreira came on for Broxham.

In the 86th minute Diogo Ferreira tried a shot from well outside the box and once again Velaphi was brilliant in goals, pushing it out for a corner.

Victory continued to create chances to the death with Dugandzic crossing into the box to Leijer whose shot was covered by Velaphi.

In the end it was a night to remember for Perth Glory as the Victory could not get past Perth-s solid defence led by Velaphi in goals. The visitors taking the spoils back home to Perth for the first time in their history and signalling their Hyundai A-League title ambitions for the 2010-2011 season.

Melbourne Victory 0
Perth Glory 2 (Jamie Harnwell 23, Mile Sterjovski 49)