No upcoming games
Future matches are yet to be scheduled
No upcoming games
Future matches are yet to be scheduled

Please update your browser

Unfortunately you cannot view this website on the current version of your browser. Please either update your browser or use an alternative browser.

May 12, 2021   |  9:45AM AET

A-League preview: Macarthur v Victory

A-League preview: Macarthur v Victory

Melbourne Victory faces Macarthur for the second time in nine days in the A-League on Friday.


Victory’s busy run of fixtures continues with a trip to Campbelltown Stadium, where the team will be in action for the fourth time in 13 days.

The Club has suffered back-to-back 2-1 losses, falling at home to Macarthur before being downed by the Glory in Perth.

In both games, Victory had chances, although Steve Kean’s side was reduced to 10 men early in the second half against Perth when Nick Ansell was sent off.

Robbie Kruse had a first-half penalty saved, although he helped Victory get back into the game late on.

Kruse’s strike hit the post and fell to Rudy Gestede to score as Victory fought back but was unable to find an equaliser.

Gestede’s goal was his fourth in the A-League this season, putting him top of the club’s goalscoring charts alongside Jake Brimmer and Callum McManaman.

While Ansell is suspended for the meeting with Macarthur, Adama Traore will also miss the trip after feeling unwell on Thursday morning. 

Youngster, William Wilson will travel to Campbelltown Stadium for a potential A-League debut. 

Player in focus

Last time

A-League 2020/21
Melbourne Victory 1-2 Macarthur
Thursday, May 6, 2021
AAMI Park, Melbourne

Victory and Macarthur met in Melbourne last week.

Elvis Kamsoba opened the scoring but Victory squandered numerous opportunities, with the visitor winning thanks to strikes from Markel Susaeta and James Meredith.

As it stands

Head to head

Round 20, 2020/21: Victory 1-2 Macarthur at AAMI Park

Match details

Macarthur v Melbourne Victory
Campbelltown Stadium, Leumeah
Friday, May 14, 2021
Kick-off: 7.05pm AEST

Melbourne Victory squad: 1.Matt ACTON (gk), 2.Storm ROUX, 6.Leigh BROXHAM, 8.Jacob BUTTERFIELD, 9.Rudy GESTEDE, 10.Robbie KRUSE, 11.Ben FOLAMI, 13.Birkan KIRDAR, 14.Jay BARNETT, 15.Aaron ANDERSON, 17.Elvis KAMSOBA, 19.Dylan RYAN, 20.Max CROCOMBE (gk), 22.Jacob BRIMMER, 26.Lleyton BROOKS, 29.Nishan VELUPILLAY, 36.William WILSON

**0-1 to be omitted** 

In: 36.William WILSON (promoted), 

Out: 4.Nick ANSELL (suspended), 25.Luis LAWRIE-LATTANZIO (injured – groin soreness)

Unavailable: 3.Adama TRAORE (unwell), 5.Ryan SHOTTON (injured – knee), 7.Callum McMANAMAN (injured – ankle), 16.Brandon LAUTON (injured – groin), 23.Marco ROJAS (injured – ankle), 35.Zaydan BELLO (injured – strain)

butterfield squad