No upcoming games
Future matches are yet to be scheduled
No upcoming games
Future matches are yet to be scheduled

Please update your browser

Unfortunately you cannot view this website on the current version of your browser. Please either update your browser or use an alternative browser.

Jul 27, 2020   |  2:48AM AET

A-League preview: Victory v Roar

A-League preview: Victory v Roar

Melbourne Victory is aiming for a fifth straight win over Brisbane Roar when the teams meet in the Hyundai A-League on Wednesday.


Victory has recorded four consecutive wins over Brisbane heading into the clash at Bankwest Stadium.

It goes into the clash having suffered a 2-1 loss to Western United in its first game back following the coronavirus-enforced break and in interim head coach Grant Brebner’s first match at the helm.

After falling behind, Victory – which built into the clash – found a late goal through Storm Roux, who headed in a Marco Rojas corner.

Roux’s goal was his first of the season, while Rojas has two assists to go with his two goals in seven league games this campaign.

Victory fielded a youthful team as teenagers Birkan Kirdar and Aaron Anderson started, while Luis Lawrie-Lattanzio, Anthony Lesiotis, Jay Barnett and Brandon Lauton came off the bench.

Lawrie-Lattanzio, 18, went close to scoring, forcing a good save from Western United goalkeeper Filip Kurto in the second half.

Victory looked threatening for long periods against Western United, but it was unable to find a late equaliser after Roux’s 83rd-minute header.

Meanwhile, Victory announced on Sunday that goalkeeper Lawrence Thomas would be continuing his career overseas.

Player in focus

Last time

Hyundai A-League 2019/20 Round 3
Brisbane Roar 0-1 Melbourne Victory
Friday, October 25, 2019
Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane

Victory recorded a hard-fought win in Brisbane when the teams met late last year.

Andrew Nabbout scored the only goal of the game with a clinical finish after a pass from Ola Toivonen.

As it stands

Head to head

Round 3, 2019/20: Roar 0-1 Victory at Suncorp Stadium
Round 22, 2018/19: Victory 2-1 Roar at Marvel Stadium
Round 15, 2018/19: Roar 0-5 Victory at Suncorp Stadium
Round 8, 2018/19: Roar 2-4 Victory at Suncorp Stadium
Round 20, 2017/18: Victory 1-2 Roar at AAMI Park

Match details

Melbourne Victory v Brisbane Roar
Bankwest Stadium, Parramatta
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Kick-off: 7.30pm AEST
Victory TV pre-game show live on Facebook & YouTube at 7pm
Watch the match live on Fox Sports 507, Kayo or the MyFootball app

Melbourne Victory squad: 1.Matt ACTON (gk), 2.Storm ROUX, 4.James DONACHIE, 6.Leigh BROXHAM (c), 7.Kenny ATHIU, 9.Andrew NABBOUT, 13.Birkan KIRDAR, 15.Giancarlo GALLIFUOCO, 16.Josh HOPE, 17.Elvis KAMSOBA, 18.Migjen BASHA, 21.Adama TRAORE, 23.Marco ROJAS, 24.Anthony LESIOTIS, 25.Brandon LAUTON, 26.Jay BARNETT, 30.Matthew SUTTON (gk), 31.Aaron ANDERSON, 32.So Nishikawa, 43.Luis LAWRIE-LATTANZIO
**2-4 to be omitted**
In: 7.Kenny ATHIU (promoted), 30. Matthew SUTTON (gk)(promoted), 32.So NISHIKAWA (promoted)
Out: 20.Lawrence Thomas (released)
Unavailable: 5.Tim HOOGLAND (released), 8.Jakob POULSEN (released), 10.Robbie KRUSE (knee – season), 11.Ola TOIVONEN (released)

Squad goals