Damien Da Silva and Kayla Morrison take out Victory Medal

Melbourne Victory defenders, Damiena Da Silva and Kayla Morrison have taken out the respective Men’s and Women’s 2024 Victory Medal at the Club’s annual awards night, held on Monday night at Crown Palladium.

Da Silva won his second consecutive Victory Medal and joins Leigh Broxham as the only other consecutive Victory Medal winner in the Club’s history and the likes of Kevin Muscat, Archie Thompson and Danny Allsopp as the only other multiple winners of the medal, which is given to the Club’s player judged best-on-field across the season.

The Frenchman said he was humbled by the award, saying he was honoured to join some of the biggest names in the Club’s history, winning the Victory Medal on multiple occasions.

“It’s an absolute privilege to be named the Victory Medalist yet again,” Da Silva said.

“To take out the Victory Medal for a second consecutive season is an honour and something that is very special for me.

“I know this season isn’t over yet and we have unfinished business as a team, but to receive this award after such a positive season means a bit more to me and we’re all looking forward to working towards bringing a trophy home for our fans.”

Men’s Head Coach Tony Popovic also spoke highly of Damien’s contribution to the team this season.

“Damien has been outstanding on and off the field ever since he arrived at Melbourne Victory,” Popovic said.

“He is one of our leaders and his actions on the pitch this season has reflected this. He has led by example with his performances and as a result, we have seen him pick up his second Victory Medal. 

“Damien has been relentless with his defensive efforts this season, but to see him not only contribute in his defensive role but in attack as well, with his set piece prowess, has made him an invaluable asset to the squad.”

Another dual winner of the award and only the second A-League Women’s player to record multiple Victory Medals along with Kendall Fletcher, Morrison was also thrilled to add a second Victory Medal to her honours list at the Club, adding to her 2021 achievement.

“It’s an honour to take out the Victory Medal,” Morrison said.

“We all know what could have been this season but to receive this award is something very special to me.

“I work with a special team every day at Melbourne Victory, both players and staff, and to be recognised in this way is something that continues to drive me to become better every day.”

Women’s Head Coach Jeff Hopkins lauded Morrison’s season leading the side.

“Kayla has continued to show why she is one of the league’s best players with her performances this season,” Hopkins said.

“She has led from the front with her actions on the pitch this season and has performed at a standard that has seen her again be recognised with this honour.

“Since her debut season in 2021 where she picked up the Victory Medal, Kayla has consistently delivered for the Club and this season she has continued to be an important asset to the team.”

The night’s other winners saw Bruno Fornaroli and Kayla Morrison take out the Player’s Player award while Jordi Valadon and Alana Murphy were awarded the Rick Smith Young Player of the Year Award.

Full Victory Medal winners

Victory Medal – Men’s: Damien Da Silva

Victory Medal – Women’s: Kayla Morrison

Player’s Player – Men’s: Bruno Fornaroli

Player’s Player – Women’s: Kayla Morrison

TAC Golden Boot – Men’s: Bruno Fornaroli

MATE Golden Boot – Women’s: Rachel Lowe

Rick Smith Young Player of the Year – Men’s: Jordi Valadon

Rick Smith Young Player of the Year – Women’s: Alana Murphy

Goal of the Season: Bruno Fornaroli vs Central Coast – Round 6

Member of the Year: Frank Triantafylou

Victory Medal Honour Roll – Men’s

2006 – Kevin Muscat

2007 – Kevin Muscat and Danny Allsopp

2008 – Rodrigo Vargas and Archie Thompson

2009 – Kevin Muscat and Danny Allsopp

2010 – Archie Thompson

2011 – Grant Brebner

2012 – Ante Covic

2013 – Mark Milligan

2014 – Adama Traore

2015 – Fahid Ben Khalfalah

2016 – Mattieu Delpierra

2017 – Carl Valeri

2018 – Leroy George

2019 – Leigh Broxham

2020 – Leigh Broxham

2021 – Robbie Kruse

2022 – Jake Brimmer

2023 – Damien Da Silva

2024 – Damien Da Silva

Victory Medal Honor Roll – Women’s

2009 – Brittany Timko

2010 – Julianne Sitch

2011 – Kendall Fletcher

2012 – Kendall Fletcher

2013 – Petra Larsson

2014 – Jess Fishlock

2015 – Amy Jackson

2016 – Annabel Martin

2017 – Natasha Dowie

2018 – Christina Gibbons

2019 – Christine Nairn

2020 – Hayley Hanson

2021 – Kayla Morrison

2022 – Alex Chidiac

2023 – Beattie Goad

2024 – Kayla Morrison