Greatest Goal second round fixtures locked in


After 57,913 votes across Facebook, Twitter & Instagram Stories, the second round fixtures in Melbourne Victory’s Greatest Goal competition have been locked in.

32 of our best long-range bombs, magic moments and last-minute winners went head-to-head on our social media channels, here’s how it went down…

One lucky person who casts their vote will win a 65 inch TV, thanks to TCL Australia/NZ. We also have 4x $100 adidas vouchers to give away, so make sure you get involved!

Biggest winner

It was no real shock that Terry Antonis’ Semi-Final winner against Sydney FC in 2018 was the biggest first round winner. Going up against an Archie Thompson strike against Gold Coast in 2009, Antonis’ goal attracted 4,103 out of 4,776 votes to cruise into the second round.

Tightest margin

Leigh Broxham’s 2015 Grand Final goal narrowly edged out Gui Finkler’s free kick against Newcastle from the same season by just 38 votes. Gui comfortably won the Instagram vote, but Facebook and Twitter went with Brox and it ended being JUST enough to get him over the line.

Most voted on fixtures

The following three fixture attracted the most votes:

Terry Antonis (2017/18) v Archie Thompson (2009/10) – 4,776 votes
James Robinson (2006/07) v Leroy George (2017/18) – 4,317 votes
Carlos Hernandez (2009/10) v Marco Rojas (2013/14) – 4,284 votes

Biggest upset

James Robinson’s last-minute Semi-Final winner against Adelaide in 2007 was expected to go deep in the competition, but in a shock result, Leroy George’s free kick against Adelaide in the 2017/18 season won the first round vote. Robbo’s header won the Twitter vote, but fell short on Facebook and Twitter to bow out at the first hurdle.

Second round fixtures

The second round of voting starts at 10am on Thursday, June 11.

Greatest goal second round