Match Details

Sydney FC v Melbourne Victory
Date: Saturday 21 October
Kick-off Time: 7:45pm
Venue: Allianz Stadium


Here we go!

Sydney FC is set to host our Round One opener once again as we look to repeat last year’s efforts.

A long pre-season has seen the inclusions of Daniel Arzani, Zinedine Machach, Adama Traore and Ryan Teague along with a raft of young talent including Christian Siciliano and Fabian Monge.

This weekend will also see the competitive return of Jake Brimmer and Jason Geria to the Melbourne Victory squad. Both finished the 2022/23 season with long to mid-term injuries that kept them out of the squad with Brimmer returning from a knee injury while Geria makes his way back from a hip injury.

Popovic was quoted in the pre-season that their return would be like new signings for the squad for the upcoming season and will be available for selection on Saturday.

Our opponents are coming into the season in hot form after taking out the Australia Cup.

With a large contingent of travelling fans making the trip to support the boys, it’s all set for a thrilling night of football.

From the Boss

Key Players to Watch:

  1. Zinedine Machach – Melbourne Victory’s new midfield dynamo will be pivotal in dictating the pace and orchestrating attacks.
  2. Jason Geria – In defence, the ever-reliable Jason Geria is fit and healthy for season 2023/24 and will be tasked with keeping Sydney FC’s attackers at bay.
  3. Bruno Fornaroli – Last season’s Victory Golden Boot winner will be crucial in front of goal, aiming to deliver goals and create goal-scoring opportunities.


Sydney FC 1 – 0 Melbourne Victory
Saturday, March 4, 2023
Allianz Stadium, Sydney


2022/23 (Jan 26): Victory 1-2 Sydney
2022/23 (Oct 8) Sydney 2-3 Victory
2021/2022 (May 7): Sydney 1-4 Victory
2021/22 (Jan 25): Victory 2-2 Sydney
2020/21 (May 19): Sydney 2-0 Victory


2.Jason GERIA, 3.Adama TRAORE, 4.Rai MARCHAN, 5.Damien DA SILVA, 6.Leigh BROXHAM, 7.Chris IKONOMIDIS, 8.Zinedine MACHACH, 10.Bruno FORNAROLI, 11.Ben FOLAMI, 14.Connor CHAPMAN, 16.Stefan NIGRO, 17.Nishan VELUPILLAY, 19.Daniel ARZANI, 20.Paul IZZO, 21.Roderick MIRANDA, 22.Jake BRIMMER, 23. Fabian MONGE, 24.Eli ADAMS, 25.Ryan TEAGUE, 40.Christian SICILIANO

Ins: nil

Outs: nil