Liberty A-League Match Preview | Pride Cup

Match Details
Adelaide United v Melbourne Victory
Time: 7:30pm (AEDT)
Location: Coopers Stadium
Broadcast: 10 Play & Paramount+


Originally to be played at 5pm (AEDT) on Saturday 9 March, the match has been moved to the following night, Sunday 10 March with kick-off now set for 7:30pm (AEDT).

The change won’t look to impact our girls in blue who are currently on a seven-match unbeaten run.

Big wins against Western Sydney (4-0) and Wellington (5-3) have seen Jeff Hopkins’ side climb five points clear of seventh place on the Liberty A-League table as they look to solidify their place in finals.

The Reds are coming off a 2-0 loss to Central Coast where they now sit 11th on the Liberty A-League table.

The previous A-League Women fixture between the teams saw Victory triumph 2-0 at AAMI Park in November. McKenzie Weinert struck first for Victory in the 31st minute. Kayla Morrison also was on target.

Victory has got the better of Adelaide of late, unbeaten in their last four A-League Women’s matches (Wins 3 Draws 1 Loss 0). Our girls in blue have outscored United 8-4 during their unbeaten streak.


The Pride Cup returns for another season with Adelaide United hosting the 2024 edition.

Pride Cup Australia represents a national movement changing sporting culture and uniting communities through education and events. Working with all levels of sport, Pride Cup is helping clubs to create environments where every LGBTI+ person feels included, accepted, and proud to be who they are.

Since 2018, Pride Cup has worked with over 450 clubs in more than 15 sporting codes across Australia.

Pride Cup began working with Adelaide United in October 2021, following Josh Cavallo’s brave decision to come out as, at the time, the only openly-gay, active professional male football player in the world.

Together, the inaugural A-Leagues Pride Cup was born; hosted by Adelaide United at Coopers Stadium and involving Melbourne Victory’s Women’s team in February 2022.

Last night our boys in blue secured the ALM Pride Cup, and our girls in blue will now have the chance of a clean sweep and make it two from two across the weekend.

Last Time

The Stats


2.Jamilla RANKIN, 3.Tori HANSEN, 4.Sara D’APPOLONIA, 6.Beattie GOAD, 7.Ella O’GRADY, 9.Emily GIELNIK, 10.Alex CHIDIAC, 13.Kurea OKINO, 15.Emma CHECKER, 16.Paige ZOIS, 18.Kayla MORRISON, 19.Lia PRIVITELLI, 21.Elise KELLOND-KNIGHT, 22.Ava BRIEDIS, 23.Rachel LOWE, 27.Rosie CURTIS, 50.Courtney NEWBON, 66.Geo CANDY

Ins: 22.Ava BRIEDIS

Outs: nil

Unavailable: 1.Lydia WILLIAMS, 5.Jessika NASH, 8.Alana MURPHY, 20.Miranda TEMPLEMAN