Preview: Victory v Beijing FC

Birkan Kirdar

Melbourne Victory returns to AFC Champions League action on Friday and will face Chinese Super League side Beijing FC in its fourth Group E fixture.


Head Coach Grant Brebner is preparing the squad for the second and final instalment against Beijing, who defeated Melbourne 3-1 at the Jassim bin Hamad Stadium on Tuesday. 

Five players made their Victory debuts on the night, including Gianluca Iannucci who scored from distance in the second half.

Midfielder Jake Brimmer also impressed in his first Victory appearance – creating chances from the middle of the park and threatening from set pieces.

Callum McManaman, Dylan Ryan and Ben Folami also featured for the new-look Melbourne side, who continue to rebuild and implement Brebner’s new approach.

The opposition

Beijing’s win against Melbourne moved it onto nine points in Group E, maintaining a 100% record so far.

Brazilian striker Alan has scored two goals in two games since the Champions League restart and remains Beijing’s greatest threat in attack.

Alan’s presence is enhanced by the creativity of Renato Augusto – who scored the opening goal against Victory on Tuesday night.


Friday’s tie will be the fourth meeting between the two sides.

ACL Group Stage 2020: Beijing FC 3 – 1 Victory at Jassim bin Hamad Stadium
ACL Group Stage 2010: Beijing FC 1 – 0 Victory at Workers Stadium
ACL Group Stage 2010: Victory 0 – 0 Beijing FC at Marvel Stadium

As it stands

A win for Melbourne would move it onto six points; joint with FC Seoul who would have a game in hand against Chiangrai United.

Another three points for Beijing would confirm its progression into the knockout stages.

Match details

Melbourne Victory v Beijing FC
Jassim bin Hamad Stadium, Doha
Friday, November 27, 2020
Kick-off: 9.00pm AEDT
Broadcast: Fox Sports and Kayo Sport

Melbourne Victory squad: Matthew ACTON (gk), Aaron ANDERSON, Nick ANSELL, Jay BARNETT, Marko BULIC (gk), Jacob BUTTERFIELD, Jacob BRIMMER, Leigh BROXHAM, Max CROCOMBE (gk), Ben FOLAMI, Gianluca IANNUCCI, Elvis KAMSOBA, Birkan KIRDAR, Brandon LAUTON, Luis LAWRIE-LATTANZIO, So NISHIKAWA, Callum MCMANAMAN, Marco ROJAS, Storm ROUX, Dylan RYAN, Adama TRAORE, Joshua VARGA

Unavailable: Robbie KRUSE (knee), Rudy GESTEDE

2020/21 membership banner