No upcoming games
Future matches are yet to be scheduled
No upcoming games
Future matches are yet to be scheduled

Please update your browser

Unfortunately you cannot view this website on the current version of your browser. Please either update your browser or use an alternative browser.

Oct 21, 2018   |  11:36PM AET

Samantha Johnson signs on for 2018/19

Samantha Johnson signs on for 2018/19

Melbourne Victory is delighted to announce it has signed central defender Samantha Johnson for the 2018/19 Westfield W-League season.

Johnson, 27, returns for her second season stint at Victory, having previously played in Melbourne during the 2016/17 season.

The experienced defender will link up with Laura Alleway at the heart of Victory’s backline.

Head Coach Jeff Hopkins said he was pleased to have locked in another key international signing.

“It’s great to have Sam back at the club, she knows what we’re about so the transition has been seamless,” Hopkins said.

“She brings a wealth of international experience and our fans will remember her as a robust defender who is comfortable on the ball.

“Sam and Laura are working well together in training and I look forward to watching their partnership develop over the season.”

Melbourne Victory’s confirmed 2018/19 Westfield W-League squad

1. Casey Dumont
4. Alexandra Gummer
5. Laura Alleway
6. Annabel Martin
7. Christine Nairn
8. Angie Beard
9. Natasha Dowie
10. Kyra Cooney-Cross
11. MelindaJ Barbieri
14. Melina Ayres
15. Emily Gielnik
16. Samantha Johnson
17. Dani Weatherholt 
18. Grace Maher
19. Lia Privitelli
20. Beth Mason-Jones
21. Ella Mastrantonio

Melbourne Victory’s Westfield W-League season begins with a clash against Adelaide United at AAMI Park on Sunday, 28 October.