Traore takes home Victory Medal


Dashing full-back Adama Traore has been named the club’s best player for the 2013/14 Hyundai A-League season, taking home tonight’s Victory Medal in front of a bumper crowd at Melbourne’s Crown Entertainment complex.

Dashing full-back Adama Traore has been named the club-s best player for the 2013/14 Hyundai A-League season, taking home tonight-s Victory Medal in front of a bumper crowd at Melbourne-s Crown Entertainment complex.

The outgoing defender (37 votes) narrowly edged out attacker James Troisi by a single vote (36), with versatile midfielder Leigh Broxham coming in third with 32. Last year-s Victory Medalist, Mark Milligan, came in fourth, one behind Broxham.

However, Troisi didn-t go home empty-handed after a stellar season that has put him in the Socceroos frame for June-s World Cup, with the 25-year-old named the ‘Players- Player of the Year- and also collecting the TAC Golden Boot for his 12 A-League goals.

New Zealand international Kosta Barbarouses claimed the club’s very first AFC Champions League Most Valuable Player award, after his exceptional performances in this year-s campaign. Barbarouses played in six of the club-s seven Champions League matches, netting two goals.

More than 600 guests were in attendance at Melbourne Victory-s night-of-nights in the Palladium Room at Crown to see Traore claim the club-s top award.

Darren Davies- National Youth League side was also recognised for their impressive season, with captain Luc Jeggo receiving the Youth League Medal for his standout 2013/14 season, while Anthony Proia was awarded the NYL Golden Boot for his nine goals across the campaign.

Melbourne Victory-s Championship winning W-League squad was also showered with praise on the night.

Welsh international Jess Fishlock took home the coveted Victory W-League Medal, while 16-year-old Beatrice Goad was named Young Player of the Year after impressing throughout the season. Swedish defender Jessica Samuelsson claimed the W-League Players- Player of the Year award, as voted by her teammates.

Coach Kevin Muscat congratulated all winners on their achievements.

“Adama has had a standout season and is certainly a deserved winner of the Victory Medal, although it got unbelievably close at the end, I was thinking we were going to have a tie between him and James (Troisi),” Muscat said.

“The entire squad should be very pleased with their efforts this season. Throughout both the Hyundai A-League and the Asian Champions League every player has shown great determination and passion and we are all looking forward to achieving even greater success next season as we celebrate the club-s 10th anniversary.

“Across the board though, all of our teams have had seasons they can be proud of and tonight was a great occasion for us as a club to celebrate.”

Victory Medal: Adama Traore
Players- Player of the Year: James Troisi
TAC Golden Boot: James Troisi (12 goals)
AFC Champions League MVP: Kosta Barbarouses
National Youth League Medal: Luc Jeggo
National Youth League Golden Boot: Anthony Proia (9 goals)
Victory W-League Medal: Jessica Fishlock
W-League Young Player of the Year: Beatrice Goad
Players- Player of the Year: Jessica Samuelsson