No upcoming games
Future matches are yet to be scheduled
No upcoming games
Future matches are yet to be scheduled

Please update your browser

Unfortunately you cannot view this website on the current version of your browser. Please either update your browser or use an alternative browser.

Jun 23, 2021   |  10:31AM AET

Victory win W-League Dolan Warren Awards

Victory win W-League Dolan Warren Awards

Melbourne Victory’s successful Westfield W-League campaign concluded on Wednesday night, at the 2021 Dolan Warren Awards.

Victory claimed three of the six categories, adding to the Championship trophy already in the cabinet.

Head Coach Jeff Hopkins won W-League Coach of the Year, after leading the squad to a memorable Grand Final triumph in Sydney.


“I’d like to thank everyone at the Club for all the support they’ve given me since I arrived,” said Hopkins.

Hopkins’ side prevailed in nine of its fourteen matches in 2021 and finished third on the W-League ladder.

“Any individual award in a team sport is not just about that person, it’s also about the support they have,” said the Welshman.

“We have an amazing group of women this season. We’ve been through some tough times and looked after each other throughout.”


Victory’s Kyra Cooney-Cross and Lisa De Vanna also took home silverware from the online awards night, earning Young Player of the Year and Goal of the Year respectively.

Cooney-Cross, who is currently on international duty with the Westfield Matildas, played every match this season and contributed six goals to Victory’s tally of 32.

The 19-year-old also scored the memorable Grand Final winner, converting directly from a corner in the 120th minute. 

De Vanna’s incredible solo run and finish from her own half in the Melbourne Derby, gained recognition as the best goal scored in the W-League for 2020/21.

In Victory’s 6-0 win over City, De Vanna cleverly dummied the ball past the opposition before unleashing an unstoppable run towards goal and beating the goalkeeper.