Victory’s best number sevens as Ikonomidis gets ready

Chris Ikonomidis will wear the number seven shirt after arriving at Melbourne Victory ahead of the 2021/22 Isuzu UTE A-League season.

The forward, 26, will don the number previously worn by some Victory stars, and a current one.

We take a look at some of the best players to wear the number for the Club.

Kyra Cooney-Cross (2017-19, 2020-present)
Cooney-Cross wrote her name in Victory history last season. The attacker scored directly from a corner in the final minute of extra-time to deliver Victory the A-League Women Championship with a 1-0 win over Sydney FC. Cooney-Cross, 19, was rewarded for her stunning campaign with a Matildas debut and the teenager has featured 12 times in Australia colours.

Marco Rojas (2011-13, 2016-17, 2020-present)
Now wearing the number 23 at Victory, Rojas produced a brilliant season in the number seven in 2016/17. The attacker scored 12 goals and provided 11 assists in 25 games as Victory reached the Grand Final, his performances enough to earn him a European move to Heerenveen. Rojas returned to Victory last year.

Christine Nairn (2014-19)
Similarly, Nairn was also capable of the sublime. The former United States international led Victory to the Club’s first and only A-League Women Premiership in 2018/19. Nairn scored five times and provided four assists in 13 games in that campaign, winning the Julie Dolan Medal, but it was just one of many seasons in which she impressed in the number seven.

Gui Finkler (2012-16)
Only two men – Michael Ferrante and Matthew Kemp – had worn the number before Finkler made it his own across four seasons. The Brazilian produced some magic moments for Victory, scoring 20 league goals for the Club, including several memorable free-kicks.

Steph Catley (2009-14)
Catley has gone on to enjoy a stellar career at both Club and international level, but she also starred for Victory. Catley helped the Club win the A-League Women Championship in 2013/14 and played 65 league games for Victory, one of only nine players to feature at least 50 times.