A-League preview: Victory v Adelaide

Callum McManaman

Melbourne Victory renews its rivalry with Adelaide United at Marvel Stadium on Saturday.


Victory goes into the clash on the back of losses to fellow Victorian clubs Western United and City.

It returns to Marvel Stadium for the third straight week as it prepares to host Adelaide in the A-League.

Victory is seeking a response after suffering a 6-0 defeat to City in the Melbourne Derby.

Nick Ansell made his return from injury in the loss, while the likes of Marco Rojas, Adama Traore, Ryan Shotton and Dylan Ryan were sidelined.

The home team has dominated this fixture since 2018, with the past nine meetings won by the host – five by Adelaide and four by Victory.

Victory has welcomed back Jean-Paul de Marigny to its coaching staff as a first team coach, it announced on Wednesday.

Player in focus

Last time

A-League 2020/21
Adelaide United 1-0 Melbourne Victory
Saturday, January 23, 2021
Coopers Stadium, Adelaide

Victory and the Reds met in Adelaide in January.

Rudy Gestede suffered an early injury for Victory before Mohamed Toure scored a 53rd-minute winner for the host.

As it stands

Head to head

Round 5, 2020/21: Adelaide 1-0 Victory at Coopers Stadium
Round 21, 2019/20: Victory 2-1 Adelaide at Marvel Stadium
Round 15, 2019/20: Adelaide 1-0 Victory at Coopers Stadium
Round 7, 2019/20: Adelaide 3-1 Victory at Coopers Stadium
Round 26, 2018/19: Adelaide 1-0 Victory at Coopers Stadium

Match details

Melbourne Victory v Adelaide United
Marvel Stadium, Melbourne
Saturday, March 13, 2021
Kick-off: 7.10pm AEDT


Melbourne Victory squad: 1.Matt ACTON (gk), 2.Storm ROUX , 3.Adama TRAORE, 4.Nicholas ANSELL, 6.Leigh BROXHAM (c), 7.Callum McMANAMAN, 8.Jacob BUTTERFIELD, 9.Rudy GESTEDE, 10.Robbie KRUSE, 11.Ben FOLAMI, 13.Birkan KIRDAR, 14.Jay BARNETT, 15.Aaron ANDERSON, 16.Brandon LAUTON, 17.Elvis KAMSOBA, 20.Max CROCOMBE (gk), 22.Jacob BRIMMER, 25.Luis LAWRIE-LATTANZIO, 33.Dalibor MARKOVIC, 35.Zaydan BELLO 

**2-4 to be omitted** 


In: 3.Adama TRAORE (return from injury)

Out: 32.So NISHIKAWA (injured – hamstring)

Unavailable: 5.Ryan SHOTTON (injured – groin), 19.Dylan RYAN (injured – knee), 23.Marco ROJAS (injured – fractured leg)

Adelaide tickets