A-League preview: Victory v City

Robbie Kruse

Melbourne Victory hosts City in a blockbuster A-League Derby clash at Marvel Stadium on Saturday.


Victory is looking to bounce back after being downed 4-3 by Western United last time out.

After fighting back from 3-1 down, Victory fell after Victor Sanchez scored a 95th-minute winner for 10-man United.

Callum McManaman scored a fine opener for Victory before Jacob Butterfield’s long-range stunner saw him net for the club for the first time.

Rudy Gestede equalised with his third header in two games as the striker continued his goalscoring form, but Victory fell to defeat.

Making his second appearance for the club, Dalibor Markovic assisted two goals as the 19-year-old left-back continued the impressive start to his senior career.

Victory was without Marco Rojas, Adama Traore, Ryan Shotton, Nick Ansell and Dylan Ryan for the clash due to injuries.

Recent derbies have been even, with Victory and City winning one each of the past five and three ending in draws.

Derby tickets


Player in focus

What they said

“We’re going to need them (the fans), we’ve needed them all season, they’ve been great all season. Obviously we’re disappointed to be where we are in the table and we need to turn that around, especially for our fans and members, so they were brilliant against Western United and I’m sure they’ll be there to support us on Saturday.” – Victory right-back Storm Roux.

Last time

A-League 2019/20
City 2-1 Melbourne Victory
Friday, February 7, 2020
AAMI Park, Melbourne

The last Melbourne Derby was played more than a year ago.

Florin Berenguer and Jamie Maclaren scored for City before Ola Toivonen pulled a goal back for Victory.

As it stands

Head to head

Round 18, 2019/20: City 2-1 Victory at AAMI Park
Round 11, 2019/20: City 1-2 Victory at AAMI Park
Round 1, 2019/20: Victory 0-0 City at Marvel Stadium
Round 20, 2018/19: Victory 1-1 City at Marvel Stadium
Round 9, 2018/19: City 1-1 Victory at AAMI Park

Match details

Melbourne Victory v City
Marvel Stadium, Melbourne
Saturday, March 6, 2021
Kick-off: 7.10pm AEDT

Melbourne Victory squad: 1.Matt ACTON (gk), 2.Storm ROUX , 4.Nicholas ANSELL, 6.Leigh BROXHAM (c), 7.Callum McMANAMAN, 8.Jacob BUTTERFIELD, 9.Rudy GESTEDE, 10.Robbie KRUSE, 11.Ben FOLAMI, 13.Birkan KIRDAR, 14.Jay BARNETT, 15.Aaron ANDERSON, 16.Brandon LAUTON, 17.Elvis KAMSOBA, 20.Max CROCOMBE (gk), 22.Jacob BRIMMER, 25.Luis LAWRIE-LATTANZIO, 32.So NISHIKAWA, 33.Dalibor MARKOVIC, 35.Zaydan BELLO 

**2-4 to be omitted** 


In: 4.Nicholas ANSELL (return from injury), 32.So NISHIKAWA (promoted)

Out: 23.Marco ROJAS (injured), 44.Matthew BOZINOVSKI (not selected)

Unavailable: 3.Adama TRAORE (injured – hamstring) 5.Ryan SHOTTON (injured – groin), 19.Dylan RYAN (injured – knee)


Derby tickets