A-League preview: Victory v Mariners


Melbourne Victory continues its busy run of games with a clash against the Central Coast Mariners on Monday.


Victory will play its third Hyundai A-League game in 10 days when it takes on the Mariners at Jubilee Stadium.

It has suffered two narrow defeats – to Western United and Brisbane Roar – since resuming its season.

Despite again showing promising signs with four teenagers in its starting team, Victory fell to defeat against Brisbane.

Storm Roux, who scored against Western United, hit the crossbar before Andrew Nabbout netted a late penalty after being fouled in the area.

Nabbout’s goal was his sixth in the league this season and ninth in all competitions.

Attacking midfielder Birkan Kirdar and left-back Adama Traore picked up injuries in the loss to Brisbane.

Victory was downed by the Mariners in January as its 18-game unbeaten run against Central Coast was ended.

Player in focus

Last time

Hyundai A-League 2019/20 Round 14
Central Coast Mariners 3-2 Melbourne Victory
Sunday, January 12, 2020
Central Coast Stadium, Gosford

Victory fell to a controversial loss to the Mariners at the start of the year.

After Jordan Murray cancelled out Kristijan Dobras’ opener, a Kye Rowles own goal put Victory ahead before a pair of additional-time penalties from Matt Simon.

As it stands

Head to head

Round 14, 2019/20: Mariners 3-2 Victory at Central Coast Stadium
Round 25, 2018/19: Victory 2-1 Mariners at AAMI Park
Round 17, 2018/19: Mariners 2-3 Victory at Central Coast Stadium
Round 4, 2018/19: Victory 4-1 Mariners at AAMI Park
Round 23, 2017/18: Victory 5-2 Mariners at AAMI Park

Match details

Melbourne Victory v Central Coast Mariners
Jubilee Stadium, Sydney
Monday, August 3, 2020
Kick-off: 7.30pm AEST
Victory TV pre-game show live on Facebook & YouTube at 7pm
Watch the match live on Fox Sports 507, Kayo or the MyFootball app

Melbourne Victory squad: 1.Matt ACTON (gk), 2.Storm ROUX, 4.James DONACHIE, 6.Leigh BROXHAM (c), 7.Kenny ATHIU, 9.Andrew NABBOUT, 13.Birkan KIRDAR, 15.Giancarlo GALLIFUOCO, 16.Josh HOPE, 17.Elvis KAMSOBA, 18.Migjen BASHA, 21.Adama TRAORE, 23.Marco ROJAS, 24.Anthony LESIOTIS, 25.Brandon LAUTON, 26.Jay BARNETT, 30.Matthew SUTTON (gk), 31.Aaron ANDERSON, 32.So Nishikawa, 43.Luis LAWRIE-LATTANZIO
**2-4 to be omitted**
In: 7.Kenny ATHIU (promoted), 18.Migjen BASHA (promoted)
Unavailable: 5.Tim HOOGLAND (released), 8.Jakob POULSEN (released), 10.Robbie KRUSE (knee – season), 11.Ola TOIVONEN (released), 20.Lawrence Thomas (released)

Jay Barnett