A-League preview: Western v Victory

Jacob Butterfield

Melbourne Victory plays at AAMI Park for the final time this A-League season with a clash against Western United on Friday.


Victory was unable to return to winning ways last time out, edged 1-0 by Adelaide United in Member Recognition Round.

Despite a late push inspired by the introduction of youngsters off the bench, Victory could not find an equaliser.

Lleyton Brooks and Nishan Velupillay, both 20, brought a spark to Victory in the closing stages with energy out wide, but no equaliser arrived.

With two games remaining in the A-League campaign, Victory plays at AAMI Park for the final time this season with a meeting against Western.

Victory is without a win in previous five clashes against Western United.

Interim head coach Steve Kean was without the likes of Robbie Kruse, Marco Rojas and Nick Ansell due to injuries against Adelaide.

Player in focus

Last time

A-League 2020/21
Melbourne Victory 3-4 Western United
Saturday, February 27, 2021
Marvel Stadium, Melbourne

Callum McManaman opened the scoring for Victory, but Besart Berisha netted a brace following Victor Sanchez’s equaliser.

Jacob Butterfield pulled one back for Victory before Tomislav Uskok’s red card, and Rudy Gestede equalised with eight minutes remaining, only for Sanchez to score a 95th-minute winner.

As it stands

Head to head

Round 10, 2020/21: Victory 3-4 Western at Marvel Stadium
Round 6, 2020/21: Western 0-0 Victory at AAMI Park
Round 28, 2019/20: Victory 1-2 Western at Bankwest Stadium
Round 9, 2019/20: Western 3-1 Victory at GMHBA Stadium
Round 4, 2019/20: Victory 2-3 Western at Marvel Stadium

Match details

Western United v Melbourne Victory
AAMI Park, Melbourne
Friday, May 28, 2021
Kick-off: 7.05pm AEST

Melbourne Victory squad: 1.Matt ACTON (gk), 2.Storm ROUX, 3.Adama TRAORE, 6.Leigh BROXHAM, 7.Callum McMANAMAN, 8.Jacob BUTTERFIELD, 9.Rudy GESTEDE, 11.Ben FOLAMI, 14.Jay BARNETT, 16.Brandon LAUTON, 17.Elvis KAMSOBA, 19.Dylan RYAN, 20.Max CROCOMBE (gk), 22.Jacob BRIMMER, 26.Lleyton BROOKS, 29.Nishan VELUPILLAY, 34.Gianluca IANNUCCI, 35.Zayden BELLO

**0-1 to be omitted** 



Unavailable:  4.Nick ANSELL (injured – hamstring), 10.Robbie KRUSE (injured – ankle), 13.Birkan KIRDAR (illness), 15.Aaron ANDERSON (injured – groin tightness), 23.Marco ROJAS (injured – ankle)

Squad goals Acton