A-League report: Glory 2-1 Victory

Jake Brimmer

A 10-man Melbourne Victory fought hard before falling to a 2-1 loss to Perth Glory in the A-League on Sunday.


Robbie Kruse had a first-half penalty saved at HBF Park, where the game turned with Nick Ansell’s red card in the 48th minute.

Perth took advantage with goals from Bruno Fornaroli and Chris Ikonomidis before Rudy Gestede pulled one back, but Victory was unable to find an equaliser.

Victory looked most dangerous on the counter-attack in the opening 20 minutes, although there were few chances for either side.

However, Victory needed an excellent low save from Matt Acton to keep out Fornaroli midway through the first half, the goalkeeper tipping a low shot from inside the area away.

Victory had a great chance to take the lead in the 25th minute after Gestede’s acrobatic effort struck Callum Timmins’ hand in the area.

But Kruse’s penalty was well saved by Perth goalkeeper Liam Reddy to keep the encounter level.

Another chance came Victory’s way two minutes before half-time, but Ben Folami fired straight at Reddy after cutting inside from the left.

The clash turned early in the second half, when Ansell was sent off for a sliding challenge on Timmins.

Perth quickly made the most of its numerical advantage as Fornaroli tucked away a cutback from Diego Castro.

Glory doubled its lead in the 56th minute as Ikonomidis volleyed in a cross from Carlo Armiento.

Victory created a decent opportunity to get back into the game with 20 minutes remaining, but Kruse was denied by Reddy from an angle after being played in by Jake Brimmer.

Gestede went close in the 77th minute, the striker’s 20-yard effort flying just wide of the top corner.

The striker did pull one back just two minutes later, putting away a rebound after Kruse smashed the post.

But a tiring Victory was unable to find a second as it fell to defeat in Perth.

Player in focus

Key moment


Hyundai A-League 2020/21
Perth Glory 2
(Bruno Fornaroli 52′, Chris Ikonomidis 56′)
Melbourne Victory 1 (Rudy Gestede 79′)

Perth Glory: Reddy (gk); Bodnar, Lachman, Aspropotamitis, Timmins (Wilson 65′), Ikonomidis; Ota, Castro (Stynes 62′); Bramwell (Ingham 72′), Fornaroli (Keogh 62′), Chianese (Armiento 45′).
Melbourne Victory: Acton (gk); Roux, Ansell, Ryan, Broxham (c); Brimmer, Butterfield; Kamsoba (Anderson 50′), Kruse, Folami; Gestede.

Yellow cards: Timmins 24′, Ota 34′, Kruse 75′
Red cards: Ansell 48′
Attendance: TBA
Venue: HBF Park

Next up

Victory is away from home again on Friday when it takes on Macarthur at Campbelltown Stadium.