A-League report: Roar 5-2 Victory

Dylan Ryan

Melbourne Victory was well beaten 5-2 by Brisbane Roar in the A-League on Saturday.


Victory was punished for a slow start on a warm day at Dolphin Stadium, where Brisbane scored three times in the opening 17 minutes.

Dylan Wenzel-Halls opened the scoring before strikes from Scott McDonald and Riku Danzaki, with the latter pair later completing their braces.

Luis Lawrie-Lattanzio and Jake Brimmer netted for Victory in the first half, but it was unable to get back into the game.

After Max Crocombe made a relatively comfortable save at his near post to deny Wenzel-Halls, Roar struck three times in nine minutes.

Wenzel-Halls beat Crocombe after a pass from Danzaki before McDonald struck with a 20-yard screamer to make it 2-0.

Danzaki added a third for Brisbane, converting from close range after a deflected cross from Corey Brown.

Victory pulled one back through Lawrie-Lattanzio, who got on the end of an Adama Traore cross to tuck away his first senior goal.

The open encounter continued as Crocombe made a good low save to keep out Josh Brindell-South, who received a cutback from Wenzel-Halls, in the 24th minute.

McDonald restored Brisbane’s three-goal lead 10 minutes before half-time, heading in a Brown corner.

Robbie Kruse had a good chance just before half-time, firing over after a cutback from Storm Roux, but Victory did get one back prior to the break.

Brimmer curled in a 20-yard free-kick after Kruse was fouled on the edge of the area.

After Wenzel-Halls put an audacious attempt wide, Brisbane made it 5-2 as Macaulay Gillesphey picked out Danzaki to tap in at the back post.

Roux fired wide in a one-on-one with Jamie Young in the 68th minute and Elvis Kamsoba was also denied by the Roar goalkeeper.

Young tipped a Brimmer free-kick over his crossbar in the 84th minute but that was as close as Victory got to a third late on.

Player in focus

Key moment


Hyundai A-League 2020/21
Brisbane Roar 5
(Dylan Wenzel-Halls 9′, Scott McDonald 14’/35′, Riku Danzaki 17’/49′)
Melbourne Victory 2 (Luis Lawrie-Lattanzio 19′, Jake Brimmer 45+5′)

Brisbane Roar: Young (gk); Trewin, Aldred (c), Gillesphey; Brindell-South (Courtney-Perkins 70′), Akbari (Champness 89′), O’Shea, Brown; Danzaki (Jelacic 89′), Wenzel-Halls (Daley 75′), McDonald.
Melbourne Victory: Crocombe (gk); Roux, Shotton, Ryan, Traore; Broxham (c) (Lauton 70′), Butterfield (Kirdar 54′); Lawrie-Lattanzio, Brimmer, Rojas; Kruse (Kamsoba 54′).

Yellow cards: Lawrie-Lattanzio 33′, Broxham 43′, Brown 45+3′, Shotton 79′, Gillesphey 83′, Kirdar 86′
Red cards: Nil
Attendance: TBA
Venue: Dolphin Stadium

Next up

Victory has a short turnaround with a trip to Bankwest Stadium to face the Western Sydney Wanderers on Wednesday.