A new era dawns on Melbourne Victory in 2010/11

The FFA today released its 30-round fixture for the Hyundai A-League 2010/11 season.

The FFA today released its 30-round fixture for the Hyundai A-League 2010/11 season.

Melbourne Victory is set to host 10 games at its new home, AAMI Park, and will also play 5 blockbusters at Etihad Stadium against Sydney FC (Saturday, October 16, 2010), Adelaide United (Saturday, October 30, 2010), Gold Coast United (Saturday, November 6, 2010), Adelaide United (Sunday, January 9, 2011) and Melbourne Heart (Saturday, January 22, 2011).

Melbourne Victory CEO, Geoff Miles spoke about the anticipation ahead of the new season “The opening of AAMI Park has been a long time coming, but now that it-s here, the experience for our fans is going to be brilliant”.

“The interest from our members and fans in AAMI Park has been phenomenal and I know the players are excited by the prospect of playing in front of capacity crowds on a regular basis – it-s going to be like a fortress”.

“October represents a massive month for the club, with our showcase fixture ‘U-NITE- against Sydney FC to kick off our blockbuster clashes at Etihad Stadium” said Miles.

“Whilst there are some clear positives with the fixture, we are also confronted with some challenges. Over the New Year period, sequences of 4 matches in 14 days, and 4 matches in 12 days, will prove extremely challenging towards the end of the season and during the Asian Cup”.

Melbourne Victory-s season kicks-off at Sydney Football Stadium on Saturday night the 7th of August in a Grand Final rematch with Sydney FC.

The club then officially christens AAMI Park when it hosts Perth Glory at its new purpose-built stadium on the night of Saturday 14th of August.

For the full Hyundai A-League 2010/11 season fixture, click below:

Hyundai A-League 2010/11 season fixture