Ayres signs on for more Victory


Melbourne Victory is pleased to announce it has re-signed rising star Melina Ayres on a one-year deal.

Ayres was nominated for NAB Young Footballer of the Year during her breakout 2017/18 season with Victory.

The 19-year-old scored some memorable goals last campaign, with the standout being a strike from halfway in the Melbourne Derby.

WATCH: Ayres scores Derby stunner


Head Coach Jeff Hopkins said he expects Ayres will continue to improve in the 2018/19 season.

“It was great to see Melina really step up at W-League level last campaign,” Hopkins said.

“She has a bright future and she’s only going to get better with more game time at the highest level.

“I’m looking forward to helping her continue to develop during the coming season.”

Melbourne Victory’s confirmed 2018/19 Westfield W-League squad

5. Laura Alleway
8. Angie Beard
10. Kyra Cooney-Cross
11. MelindaJ Barbieri
14. Melina Ayres
15. Emily Gielnik
18. Grace Maher

Melbourne Victory’s Westfield W-League season begins with a clash against Adelaide United at AAMI Park on Sunday, 28 October.