Christian Theoharous picked for Young Socceroos camp


Melbourne Victory youth team forward Christian Theoharous has been named in a 24-player squad for a Young Socceroos training camp next month.

The squad, which consists of players who come from Foxtel National Youth League teams, will look to impress Young Socceroos head coach Ufuk Talay and his coaching staff at the AIS from February 6-9.

“The squad comprises of players born in 1999, most of whom have been playing in the recently completed National Youth League season,” said Talay.

“The aim of the camp is to have a look at these players in our environment, get them to understand the philosophies of the national teams and the way we want to play, and moving forward beginning to prepare for the AFC U-19 Championship 2018 qualifiers in October.”

Joshua Cavallo, who represented Victory in the Foxtel National Youth League 2016/17 season, has also been selected in the squad.

Young Socceroos squad: Nathaniel Atkinson (City), Joshua Cavallo (Melbourne Victory), Mathieu Cordier (Western Sydney Wanderers), Henry Davies (Western Sydney Wanderers), James Delianov (City), Mitchell Dobson (Newcastle Jets), Macklin Freke (Brisbane Roar), Dennis Genreau (City), Dane Ingham (Brisbane Roar), John Iredale (Sydney FC), Stefan King (Perth Glory), Taci Kumsuz (Western Sydney Wanderers), Patrick Langlois (Newcastle Jets), Daniel Leck (Brisbane Roar), Connor Metcalfe (City), Oliver Puflett (Western Sydney Wanderers), Aaron Reardon (Brisbane Roar), Adam Sawyer (Brisbane Roar), Walter Scott (Perth Glory), Apostolos Stamatelopoulos (Adelaide United), Gianni Stensness (Central Coast Mariners), Gerrie Sylaidos (City), Christian Theoharous (Melbourne Victory), Callum Timmins (Perth Glory), Mark Tokich (FFA COE)