Eye on ICC: Atletico Madrid names travelling squad


Atletico Madrid has named a strong 24-man squad for its trip to Australia, where it will face Tottenham Hotspur and Melbourne Victory.

The squad left Spain for Melbourne on Tuesday, with its first game against English side Tottenham Hotspur in the International Champions Cup Australia at the MCG on Friday night.

Atletico will then face Victory at Geelong’s Simonds Stadium on Sunday afternoon. Tickets are available here.

Of Atletico’s starting XI from last season’s UEFA Champions League final, seven players will travel to Australia, including former Liverpool and Chelsea forward Fernando Torres.

Torres, who captained Atletico earlier in his career, scored 11 goals in 30 league appearances and netted once in Europe last season.

Experienced midfielders Gabi and Tiago Mendes are in, as well as one of Spain’s hottest prospects, Saul Niguez, who continues to excite in La Liga.

Key defenders Filipe Luis, Diego Godin and Stefan Savic have also been included, plus Slovenian goalkeeper Jan Oblak, who played in every minute of every league and European match for Atletico in 2015/16.

New signings Diogo Jota, Sime Vrsaljko and Rafael Borre will get a chance to impress for their new side, with Atletico looking to improve on its third-placed finish in La Liga last season.

Renew or join as a Melbourne Victory member and stand Arm in Arm with us in 2016/17. Click here for more details.

Atletico Madrid squad: Jan Oblak, Carlos Marin, Angel Bernabe, Diego Godin, Filipe Luis, Tiago Mendes, Saul Niguez, Fernando Torres, Oliver Torres, Gabi, Stefan Savic, Lucas Hernandez, Thomas Partey, Rafael Borre, Diogo Jota, Sime Vrsaljko, Theo Hernandez, Javier Manquillo, Hector Hernandez, Emiliano Velazquez, Amath Diedhiou, Caio Henrique, Juan Moreno