Friday night’s live on SBS ONE


The Hyundai A-League will be broadcast on Friday nights LIVE on SBS ONE and simulcast in high definition on SBS HD when the 10 year anniversary season kicks off from October 10.

SBS and Football Federation Australia (FFA) will partner to invest in the future growth of the premier national competition with a focus on Harvey Norman Friday Night Football.

Melbourne Victory will be heavily involved in the Friday night fixtures, with ten matches to be played on SBS ONE, inlcuding the season opener against Western Sydney Wanderers at Etihad Stadium on Friday, October 10.

The new broadcast arrangements will elevate the Hyundai A-League’s presence on free-to-air television and expand its promotion to Australian audiences.

The enormous success of the 2014 FIFA World Cup on SBS which reached an audience of 10.8 million on television alone speaks to the growing popularity of the world game in Australia, with Socceroos’ opening group match in Brazil attracting an average of 2.28 million viewers, making it the 5th highest rating individual program of all time for SBS.

With modest resources, SBS focuses its investments on programs and sports properties which deliver the SBS Charter and connects with all Australians. This brings a wider Australian audience to SBS as well as generates revenue that can be invested back into producing more great local programs.

SBS Managing Director Michael Ebeid said; “Moving the Hyundai A-League to SBS ONE capitalises on our momentum from the World Cup and signals our increased commitment to and confidence in growing this great game which unites communities across so many cultures.”

SBS Director of Sport, Ken Shipp said; “Bringing the Hyundai A-League to free-to air audiences for the first time in 2013 was an important step forward for SBS and the game. The immense success of our 2014 FIFA World Cup coverage on SBS ONE shows there is an incredible thirst for football in Australia.”

FFA CEO David Gallop said; “The move of Hyundai A-League broadcasts to SBS ONE is sign of SBS’s commitment to the game and underlines the booming popularity of the Hyundai A-League.

“This is a pivotal move for Australian football and reflects the game’s vibrant role in the mainstream of our society.”

“On behalf of the Australian football community, I commend SBS for this initiative.”

The live Friday night Hyundai A-League games will broadcast at 7.30pm (AEDT) from October 10, encore screenings from 1pm (AEDT) Saturdays on SBS 2 and will also stream online at


Round 1          10/10               Melbourne Victory      v          Western Sydney

Round 2          17/10               Adelaide Utd               v          Melbourne Victory

Round 3          24/10               Brisbane Roar             v          Sydney FC

Round 4          31/10               Melbourne City           v          Adelaide United

Round 5          07/11               Adelaide Utd               v          Sydney FC

Round 6          14/11               Newcastle Jets           v          Brisbane Roar

Round 7          21/11               Melbourne Victory      v          Brisbane Roar

Round 8          28/11               Melbourne Victory      v          Adelaide Utd

Round 10        05/12              Central Coast              v          Melbourne Victory

Round 11        12/12               Adelaide Utd               v          Brisbane Roar

Round 12        19/12               Brisbane Roar             v          Western Sydney

Round 13        26/12               Sydney FC                  v          Adelaide Utd

Round 14        02/01               Melbourne Victory      v          Perth Glory

Round 17        06/02               Newcastle Jets           v          Brisbane Roar

Round 18        13/02               Central Coast              v          Brisbane Roar

Round 19        20/02               Brisbane Roar             v          Melbourne Victory

Round 20        27/02               Melbourne City           v          Adelaide Utd

Round 21        06/03               Newcastle Jets           v          Sydney FC

Round 22        13/03               Western Sydney         v          Melbourne Victory

Round 23        20/03               Sydney FC                  v          Melbourne City

Round 24        27/03               Melbourne Victory      v          Central Coast

Round 25        03/04               Western Sydney         v          Melbourne City

Round 26        10/04               Melbourne Victory      v          Newcastle Jets

Round 27        17/04               Newcastle Jets           v          Sydney FC

**Rounds 9, 15, 16 not yet confirmed