Gibbons dominates W-League awards


Christina Gibbons has dominated the W-League awards at the 2018 Victory Medal Night, proudly presented by Bluestar Global Logisitcs.

Gibbons, 23, joined Victory from NWSL side FC Kansas City back in October and made a massive impact in her debut W-League season – taking out the W-League Victory Medal.

She settled straight in and was a constant presence in the middle of the park. Gibbons’ passing ability was a key for the club, while she also scored a Melbourne Derby winner.

WATCH: Gibbons’ Derby winner

Gibbons also received recognition from her teammates, picking up the W-League Players’ Player of the Season award.

The club’s record goalscorer Natasha Dowie once again received the TAC Golden Boot award with six goals during the 2017/18 Westfield W-League season.

Dowie was again the focal point of Victory’s attack, while she worked tirelessly to pressure opposition defences.

WATCH: Dowie’s screamer against the Wanderers

2017/18 Victory Medal Night award winners

Victory Medal: Leroy George
A-League Players’ Player of the Season: Leroy George
TCL Goal of the Season: Terry Antonis
TAC A-League Golden Boot: Besart Berisha
W-League Victory Medal: Christina Gibbons
W-League Players’ Player of the Season: Christina Gibbons
TAC W-League Golden Boot: Natasha Dowie
NYL Victory Medal: Thierry Iradukunda