Hopkins sets record for most W-League wins


Melbourne Victory head coach Jeff Hopkins made Westfield W-League history during Sunday’s 3-0 win over Canberra United.

Hopkins set a record for most wins as a head coach in the competition’s history with his 49th.

The former Brisbane Roar boss went ahead of Alen Stajcic (48) after Victory claimed a fourth straight win.

Hopkins’ team moved back into the top four after a Melina Ayres brace and Natasha Dowie header at Lakeside Stadium.

He has been in charge of Victory since 2016/17 and led the club to its first Premier’s Plate last season while being named the Westfield W-League Coach of the Year.

With three games remaining this regular season, Victory is fourth on 17 points, trailing City (25), Western Sydney Wanderers (19) and Sydney FC (19) and ahead of Brisbane Roar (14).

Victory’s next Westfield W-League outing is a Derby clash against City at Lakeside Stadium on February 13.