Isuzu UTE A-League Preview | Melbourne Victory v Wellington Phoenix

Match Details

Melbourne Victory v Wellington Phoenix
Date: Friday 10 November
Kick-off Time: 7:45pm
Venue: AAMI Park


It’s Friday Night Lights at AAMI Park for the first time this season as Tony Popovic’s side faces Wellington Phoenix.

The boys in blue remain undefeated to start the season and will look to continue their form ahead of the upcoming international break.

Victory played out a dramatic 1-1 draw with Adelaide United last Saturday night, with both teams forced to settle for a point from the first Original Rivalry game of the season.

Bruno Fornaroli’s red-hot start to the season continued just before the half-hour mark in the Original Rivalry, as Zinedine Machach powered down the right wing before a perfect cutback found the feet of Fornaroli, whose first-time finish nestled in the top-right corner of the goal.

The Uruguayan has now scored six goals in his first three games of the season, setting a new Victory record.

A Club milestone is on the horizon for Chris Ikonomidis this week, with the Socceroos attacker set to play his 50th match for Victory.

Jason Geria returns to the selection table after dealing with a quad injury he sustained in round two against the Newcastle Jets.

The visitors are off to their best-ever start to an Isuzu UTE A-League season after having run away with a resounding 5-2 win over Brisbane Roar last week.

Nix striker Oskar Zawada is in red-hot form to start the season, having scored 4 goals in the opening three games.

Former Victory star and current Wellington forward Kosta Barbarouses is also set to play his 300th game this Friday night.

The Nix, also having claimed seven points to start the season, only sit below the boys in blue on goal difference.




Wellington Phoenix 1-2 Melbourne Victory
Saturday 1 April, 2023
Sky Stadium, Wellington


2022/23 (Feb 3): Melbourne Victory 3-1 Wellington Phoenix
2021/22 (Apr 29): Melbourne Victory 3-1 Wellington Phoenix
2021/22 (Feb 9) Wellington Phoenix 1-0 Melbourne Victory
2022 (Jan 9) Melbourne Victory 4-1 Wellington Phoenix – Aus Cup


.Jason GERIA, 4.Rai MARCHAN, 5.Damien DA SILVA, 6.Leigh BROXHAM, 7.Chris IKONOMIDIS, 8.Zinedine MACHACH, 10.Bruno FORNAROLI, 11.Ben FOLAMI, 14.Connor CHAPMAN, 16.Stefan NIGRO, 17.Nishan VELUPILLAY, 19.Daniel ARZANI, 20.Paul IZZO, 22.Jake BRIMMER, 23.Fabian MONGE, 24.Eli ADAMS, 25.Ryan TEAGUE, 40.Christian SICILIANO

In’s: 2.Jason GERIA, 6.Leigh BROXHAM, 24.Eli ADAMS

Out’s: 3.Adama TRAORE, 21. Roderick MIRANDA