Isuzu UTE A-League preview: Sydney v Victory

Match details

Sydney FC v Melbourne Victory
Netstrata Jubilee Stadium, Sydney
Saturday, May 7, 2022
Kick-off: 7.45pm AEST
Broadcast: Network Ten, Paramount+
Watch live at Harlow Bar in Richmond


Melbourne Victory wraps up its Isuzu UTE A-League regular season with a huge away clash against rivals Sydney FC on Saturday night.

Victory is riding a Club-record 14 game unbeaten streak, placing them in a position to finish in any of the top three positions on the table.

A win against Sydney would give them a chance in the Premiership race and a likely top-two finish pending results in the following days.

Current table (one game remaining for each team):

1 – Melbourne City 46pts +21

2 – Melbourne Victory 45pts +14

3 – Western United 45pts +11

Victory enter the night off the back of an impressive 3-1 win over Wellington at AAMI Park last Friday, their 200th win in A-League Men history.

Goals to Nick D’Agostino, Jake Brimmer and Marco Rojas sealed the result in an eye-catching display of team football despite challenging conditions.

If D’Agostino finds the back of the net agan in Sydney, he’ll join an exclusive list of Victory stars to have netted 10 times in a league campaign alongside Danny Allsopp, Archie Thompson, Carlos Hernandez, Robbie Kruse, Marco Rojas, James Troisi, Besart Berisha, Ola Toivonen and Kosta Barbarouses.

Sydney is playing its first A-League Men clash since April 12, having spent the past fortnight competing in the Asian Champions League.

In their previous encounter on January 25, Victory and Sydney played out an entertaining 2-2 draw at AAMI Park.

Player in focus

Ivan Kelava’s form is peaking at the right end of the season. The Croatian shot-stopper has conceded just four goals in Victory’s last eight league games.

Last time

Isuzu UTE A-League 2021/22 regular season
Melbourne Victory 2-2 Sydney FC
Tuesday, April 25, 2022

Victory took the lead twice through Ben Folami and Robbie Kruse before Sydney equalised on each occasion.

Head to head

2021/22 (April 25): Victory 2-2 Sydney at AAMI Park
2020/21 (May 19): Sydney 2-0 Victory at Netstrata Jubilee Stadium
2020/21 (April 27): Sydney 1-0 Victory at Netstrata Jubilee Stadium
2020/21 (April 4): Victory 0-3 Sydney at AAMI Park
2019/20 (March 7): Victory 1-4 Sydney at AAMI Park