Key facts and figures from Victory’s A-League start


With Melbourne Victory’s Round 7 match against Wellington Phoenix postponed following the New Zealand earthquake, take a look at some key facts and figures from the first six weeks of the Hyundai A-League 2016/17 season.

German import Max Beister became the seventh player to score a goal on Victory debut in the Hyundai A-League on Saturday night.

Beister, the 119th player to represent Victory in the Hyundai A-League, netted in the 85th minute of the 3-0 win over Western Sydney Wanderers at Etihad Stadium.

Victory’s other debut goalscorers include Mitch Austin (2016/17), Besart Berisha (2014/15), Matthieu Delpierre (2014/15), Claudinho (2006/07), Richard Kitzbichler (2005/06) and Archie Thompson (2005/06).

Victory’s win over the Wanderers took its season’s goal tally to 14 – the equal most it has scored in the opening six rounds of the competition.

The other two seasons it matched that feat were the Championship-winning 2006/07 and 2014/15 campaigns.

However, the nine goals Victory has conceded is its equal second-highest amount in the first six rounds of a season.

While it has only notched three wins from six games in 2016/17, Victory has scored in every outing – matched only by its start to the 2006/07 season.

Berisha’s hat-trick in Round 3 against Wellington took him to 50 goals for Victory in all competitions (Hyundai A-League, Westfield FFA Cup and AFC Champions League).

Since joining the club ahead of the 2014/15 season, Berisha has scored 36 goals in the Hyundai A-League, 10 in the Westfield FFA Cup and four in the AFC Champions League.

The 31-year-old has netted 85 times in the Hyundai A-League with Victory and Brisbane Roar, moving him to within five goals of Thompson’s all-time record of 90.

Victory is also close to becoming the first team in Hyundai A-League history to score 500 goals.

The club has netted 493 goals so far in regular season and Finals Series games combined, 34 ahead of the next best club (Brisbane).

Renew or join as a Melbourne Victory member and stand Arm in Arm with us in 2016/17. Click here for more details.