Kosta Barbarouses tops Johnny Warren Medal voting for Victory


Melbourne Victory forward Kosta Barbarouses was rewarded for his consistent Hyundai A-League 2015/16 season at the Dolan Warren Awards on Tuesday night.

Barbarouses received a club-high 20 points in the Johnny Warren Medal count, which recognises the most outstanding player in the Hyundai A-League.

Perth Glory’s Diego Castro won the medal on 34 points, one clear of Melbourne City’s Aaron Mooy.

Under a new voting system, points were allocated on a 3-2-1 basis for each game from a panel that included former professional players, coaching experts, match officials and media representatives.

Barbarouses, who finished fourth in the Johnny Warren Medal last season, was nine points clear of the next Victory player, with Besart Berisha and Matthieu Delpierre each recording 11 points.

Fahid Ben Khalfallah, last season’s third-place getter in the Johnny Warren Medal, was the next best with 10 points.

Barbarouses collected the maximum three points in four straight games from Round 13, in matches against Newcastle Jets, Central Coast Mariners, Brisbane Roar and Sydney FC.

In other Dolan Warren awards, Victory youth team captain Joey Katebian received the Foxtel National Youth League Golden Boot award for 2015/16.

2015/16 Johnny Warren Medal (Melbourne Victory votes)

Kosta Barbarouses – 20 points
Besart Berisha – 11
Matthieu Delpierre – 11
Fahid Ben Khalfallah – 10
Oliver Bozanic – 9
Gui Finkler – 8
Jason Geria – 4
Danny Vukovic – 4
Jai Ingham – 3
Lawrence Thomas – 3
Leigh Broxham – 2
Thomas Deng – 2
Rashid Mahazi – 2
Stefan Nigro – 2