Laura Alleway extends Victory stay


Melbourne Victory is pleased to announce that defender Laura Alleway has signed a one-year contract extension with the Club.

Alleway’s new deal keeps her at Victory until the end of the 2019/20 Westfield W-League season.

The commanding centre-back, who was part of Melbourne’s inaugural W-League team, has been an important player for Jeff Hopkins’ side since returning to the club in 2017.

Hopkins said he was pleased to have brought some stability to his defence ahead of the 2018/19 season.

“Laura is one of Australia’s most experienced defenders and the way she organises the backline is huge for us,” Hopkins said.

“The fact she’s played more than 50 games for the Matildas says a lot about her ability.

“It’s great to know that Laura will continue to lead our defence for the next couple of years.”

Melbourne Victory’s confirmed 2018/19 Westfield W-League squad

5. Laura Alleway
8. Angie Beard
9. Natasha Dowie 
10. Kyra Cooney-Cross
11. MelindaJ Barbieri
14. Melina Ayres
15. Emily Gielnik
18. Grace Maher

Melbourne Victory’s Westfield W-League season begins with a clash against Adelaide United at AAMI Park on Sunday, 28 October.