Leigh Broxham wins back-to-back Victory Medals


Melbourne Victory has hosted its 15th annual Victory Medal, proudly presented by Bluestar Global Logistics.

With Stage 4 lockdown protocols still in place in Victoria, the club’s announcement of the A-League, W-League and Y-League winners took place via a special online broadcast.

It was a memorable night with Leigh Broxham winning back-to-back Victory Medals, the first player to do so since Kevin Muscat back in 2005/06 and 2006/07.

2020/21 membership banner

The 315-game veteran was acknowledged for another consistent season, his unwavering hunger to compete coupled with his leadership, made him a worthy winner.

“It is a prestigious award to win at Melbourne Victory,” Broxham said. 

“It’s been the most difficult year in my 15 seasons at this club, given the global pandemic and an unsuccessful season. I commend everyone’s commitment to try to keep doing the right things.  

“I’d like to thank my wife Sam and my children. They supported me when I was home during the suspension of the season, and the pressure was huge on them when I was away in the hub. I can’t thank Sam and the support network around us enough for all you’ve done. 

“I’d also like to thank the Chairman, the Board and the various coaches for the way they have supported us throughout the course of this season.

“Finally, to our members and supporters, thanks for your continued support. Last season was not an ideal year but I’m going to do everything I can during the break to come back bigger and better for the upcoming season.”

WATCH: Leigh Broxham crowned 2019/20 Victory Medallist


Defender James Donachie was awarded the Players’ Player of the Year and Ola Toivonen won the TAC Golden Boot, after netting 10 goals for the season.

Hayley Hanson was crowned the W-League Victory Medal winner after an impressive debut season in the competition.

The US international played all 13 games for the club and was influential in the side’s push into the Finals series.

“I’m incredibly grateful for receiving the W-League Victory Medal for this past season. It is such an honour,” Hanson said.

“I want to thank my teammates, you guys are amazing. It’s not easy to move across the world to a new team and you guys made my transition seamless and painless, and I will never forget the memories we made on and off the pitch.

“I want to thank all the staff, specifically Jeff (Hopkins) and Gareth (Turnbull). You both have been great to play for and I have learnt so much from you. Not only do you have a great knowledge of the game, but you are great people, which makes coming in to work every day so much easier.

“Finally, this football club is really special. I felt like part of the family right away, I want to thank everyone at the club for their role in helping us be successful as a team this year and making everyone feel valued and appreciated.”

Emily Menges was awarded the Players’ Player Award and Natasha Dowie added another TAC Golden Boot Award to her trophy cabinet after scoring 7 goals. 

In the Foxtel Y-League, Luis Lawrie-Lattanzio capped off an impressive season in the navy blue, taking home the Y-League Victory Medal and the TAC Golden Boot Award.

A-League Victory Medal – Leigh Broxham
Player’s Player Award – James Donachie
TAC A-League Golden Boot – Ola Toivonen

W-League Victory Medal – Hayley Hanson
Player’s Player Award – Emily Menges
TAC W-League Golden Boot – Natasha Dowie

Y-League Victory Medal – Luis Lawrie-Lattanzio
TAC Y-League Golden Boot – Luis Lawrie-Lattanzio