Leigh Broxham wins Victory Medal


Melbourne Victory Football Club is pleased to announce the award winners from Saturday night’s Victory Medal event, presented by Bluestar Global Logistics, held at the Palladium at Crown.

31-year-old Leigh Broxham claimed his first Victory Medal after an outstanding season in which the utility played in all but one of Victory’s Hyundai A-League fixtures.

Broxham also claimed the Players’ Player of the Year award, highlighting both his embodiment of the Club’s values and respect amongst the playing group.

Forwards Kosta Barbarouses and Ola Toivonen were jointly awarded the TAC Victoria Golden Boot after scoring 15 goals each throughout the 2018/19 A-League campaign.

Toivonen’s strike from a free-kick outside the box against Sydney FC on Australia Day was also awarded TCL Goal of the Season.

As previously announced at the Victory W-League end of season awards night in February, American midfielder Christine Nairn claimed both the W-League Victory Medal and W-League Players’ Player of the Year award.

Nairn also won the 2018/19 Julie Dolan Medal at the Dolan Warren Awards night earlier this month to cap off a fantastic Westfield W-League season for the midfielder.

Melbourne Victory W-League captain Natasha Dowie was awarded the TAC Victoria W-League Golden Boot for her terrific nine-goal season.

In the Foxtel Y-League, Benjamin Carrigan took home the Victory Youth Medal in a season that saw the young defender earn a call-up to Victory’s AFC Champions League side where the 20-year-old lined up against Daegu FC and Sanfrecce Hiroshima.

Yazid Said’s four goals in the eight-game Y-League season saw the 19-year-old awarded the TAC Victoria Youth Golden Boot.

Melbourne Victory congratulates all award winners on a fantastic 2018/19 season.


Victory Medal: Leigh Broxham
W-League Victory Medal: Christine Nairn
Players’ Player of the Year: Leigh Broxham
W-League Players’ Player of the Year: Christine Nairn
TAC Victoria Golden Boot: Kosta Barbarouses and Ola Toivonen
TAC Victoria W-League Golden Boot: Natasha Dowie
TCL Goal of the Season: Ola Toivonen
Victory Youth Medal: Benjamin Carrigan
TAC Victoria Youth Golden Boot: Yazid Said

Click here to download your blue carpet photos from Victory Medal Night