Melbourne Victory names squad for 2020 ACL Group Stage


Melbourne Victory has named a 26-man squad for the 2020 AFC Champions League (ACL) Group Stage.

Head Coach Carlos Salvachua made the following changes to the squad which was previously named for the Qualifying Play-offs:

IN: Giancarlo Gallifuoco, Marco Rojas and So Nishikawa
OUT: Corey Brown (released), Thomas Deng (released), Jack Palazzolo, Jakob Poulsen and Brendan White

Victory opens its campaign against Thailand’s Chiangrai United on February 11 at Melbourne Rectangular Stadium.

Salvachua said the team was looking forward to embarking on the next stage of its ACL campaign. 

“We have made a few changes to the squad for the Group Stage which starts next week,” Salvachua said.

“Our new signings, Marco Rojas and Giancarlo Gallifuoco, come into the squad, as does So Nishikawa who has earned a call up after a consistent season in the youth team.”

“With any ACL squad announcement there are always tough decisions, and Jack, Jakob and Brendan make way on this occasion.”

“We have a big couple of months ahead in both the A-League and Champions League, and it will take our entire squad working hard together to help us achieve our ambition of qualifying for the next stage of the tournament.”

Melbourne Victory’s AFC Champions League Squad

Ola Toivonen (C)
Matthew Acton
Aaron Anderson
Kenny Athiu
Migjen Basha
Jay Barnett
Lleyton Brooks
Leigh Broxham
Ben Carrigan
James Donachie
Giancarlo Gallifuoco
Joshua Hope
Elvis Kamsoba
Birkan Kirdar
Robbie Kruse
Brandon Lauton
Luis Lawrie-Lattanzio
Anthony Lesiotis
Andrew Nabbout
So Nishikawa
Marco Rojas
Storm Roux
Matthew Sutton
Lawrence Thomas
Adama Traore
Joshua Varga

To view Melbourne Victory’s 2020 AFC Champions League fixture, click here.