Melbourne Victory announces 2017 NPL squad


Melbourne Victory has finalised its squad for the 2017 PlayStation 4 NPL2 West Victoria season.

Victory was relegated from the top tier of Victorian football at the end of last season, after achieving promotion in its first season in 2015.

The squad, coached by Gareth Naven, will compete for the La Ionica Community Cup in its Round 1 clash with Whittlesea Ranges at Epping Stadium on Sunday.

Victory hosts Northcote City the following week, before travelling to play Moreland Zebras in Round 3.

The squad consists mainly of players from Victory’s Foxtel National Youth League roster, with new faces including Brandon Jansz (recruited from South Melbourne) and Brandon Lauton (Ballarat Red Devils).

Hyundai A-League players Stefan Nigro, George Howard and Lucas Spinella are also part of the NPL squad, along with Christian Theoharous, who has been named to take part in a Young Socceroos training camp this month.

Victory, which will also field an under-20 team in the 2017 competition, will play its home games at Epping Stadium.

Click here to view Victory’s 2017 PS4 NPL2 West Victoria fixture.

Melbourne Victory’s 2017 PS4 NPL2 West Victoria squad: Aaron ANDERSON, Benjamin CARRIGAN, Callum GOULDING, Nicholas HATZIGEORGIOU, Stephen HATZIKOURTIS, Matthew HENNESSEY, Joshua HOPE, George HOWARD, Brandon JANSZ, Joshua KELIC, Brandon LAUTON, Cameron McGILP, Stefan NIGRO, Brady QUINN, Nicholas SETTE, Lucas SPINELLA, Aleksandar STANISAVLJEVIC, Christian THEOHAROUS, Jonathan VAKIRTZIS, Andrew VISCIGLIO, Pierce WARING, James XYDIAS