Melbourne Victory announces squad changes


Melbourne Victory has announced changes to its playing squad following the completion of its 2015/16 season.

Seven players will depart the club, including four who have previously been announced – Archie Thompson (released), Gui Finkler (signed by Wellington Phoenix), Kosta Barbarouses (signed by Wellington Phoenix) and Matthieu Delpierre (retired).

Midfielder Jesse Makarounas and defenders Dylan Murnane and Giancarlo Gallifuoco have not been offered new contracts.

Makarounas played 51 games for Victory in all competitions (Hyundai A-League, Westfield FFA Cup and AFC Champions League) over three seasons.

Murnane spent four years at the club and played 32 games, while Gallifuoco made nine appearances in his only season at Victory.

“I would like to thank each of the players departing the club for their contributions to Melbourne Victory,” said head coach Kevin Muscat.

“Each of them has conducted themselves in a professional manner, worked hard on and off the pitch and represented Victory with pride.

“On behalf of everyone at the club, I wish them all the best in their future endeavours.”