Melbourne Victory signs Italian forward Francesco Margiotta

Melbourne Victory is pleased to announce the signing of Italian forward Francesco Margiotta ahead of the 2021/22 Isuzu UTE A-League season.

The 28-year-old has signed a one-year deal which will see Margiotta join the Club until the end of the 2021/22 season.

Isuzu UTE A-League Head Coach, Tony Popovic, said the Italian will add firepower to his side’s potent forward third. 

“Francesco has built his career on being a commanding centre forward and we’re confident he will play an important role for Melbourne Victory this season,” Popovic said.

“He has been a proven goal-scorer at a range of levels across Europe and will complement the exciting, attacking players we already have within our squad.”

Margiotta was also excited to head to Australia with Melbourne Victory, saying he’s looking forward to the challenge in the A-League.

“I have heard a lot about the team, the League and Australia’s passion for football” said Margiotta.

“Melbourne Victory has built a strong squad of which I am excited to be a part of. I have seen footage of the stadium and the fans and I am looking forward to playing in front of the

Club’s passionate supporters and helping the team succeed in 2021/22.”

A product of the Juventus academy, Margiotta spent seven seasons on the books of the Serie A giants, with loan spells at Carrarese, Monza, Venezia and Sanraecangelo before an impressive stint at Swiss side Lausanne-Sport which saw the forward sign permanently in 2018.

Margiotta then joined fellow Swiss side FC Luzern in 2019 where he rekindled the form that saw him take the Swiss Super League by storm, scoring 14 goals and 12 assists in 43 appearances and taking out the club’s Golden Boot.

The striker returned to Italy with Serie B side Cheivo in 2020 and found the back of the net five times during his time with the Verona-based club.
Margiotta is the Club’s twelfth new signing of the 2021/22 pre-season, joining Jason Geria, Jason Davidson, Rai Marchan, Matt Spiranovic, Chris Ikonomidis, Josh Brillante, Stefan Nigro, Brendan Hamill, Ivan Kelava, Nick D’Agostino and Roderick Miranda.