No upcoming games
Future matches are yet to be scheduled

Please update your browser

Unfortunately you cannot view this website on the current version of your browser. Please either update your browser or use an alternative browser.

Oct 01, 2021   |  12:50AM AET

Melbourne Victory signs Portuguese defender Roderick Miranda

Melbourne Victory signs Portuguese defender Roderick Miranda

Melbourne Victory is pleased to announce the signing of Portuguese central defender Roderick Miranda ahead of the 2021/22 season.

The 30-year-old has signed a two-year deal which will see Roderick join the Club until the end of the 2022/23 season.

A-League Men’s Head Coach, Tony Popovic, said Miranda will bolster the Club’s defence.

“Roderick comes to Melbourne Victory with a great pedigree and qualities that have seen him play at the highest levels in Europe.” Popovic said.

“He possesses the physical and technical attributes that will complement our playing style this season.”

Miranda said he was thrilled to join Melbourne Victory and play in Australia.

“I’m very happy and excited to join this great Club and can’t wait to meet the fans when I get to Melbourne,” Miranda said

“I’ve seen that Victory has a strong history in the league and I can’t wait to experience what Australia and the A-League has to offer.”

Miranda is a former Portuguese youth international who lead his side to the 2011 U20 FIFA World Cup Final in Colombia.  He spent the early part of his career with Portuguese giants Benfica, graduating from their academy program after nine years.

Miranda later joined the Portuguese revolution at Wolverhampton Wanderers in 2017, playing in the English side’s promotion season from the Championship to the Premier League before joining Olympiakos, where he represented the Greek giants in the UEFA Champions League.

The defender spent the start of 2021 with Turkish Super Lig side Gaziantep where he made 13 appearances before becoming a free agent in July.

Miranda is the Club’s eleventh new signing of the 2021/22 pre-season, joining Jason Geria, Jason Davidson, Rai Marchan, Matt Spiranovic, Chris Ikonomidis, Josh Brillante, Stefan Nigro, Brendan Hamill, Ivan Kelava and Nick D’Agostino.