Melbourne Victory’s W-League squad announced

Melbourne Victory and Football Federation Victoria are delighted to announce the squad that will compete in the upcoming Westfield W-League season.

Melbourne Victory and Football Federation Victoria are delighted to announce the squad that will compete in the upcoming Westfield W-League season.

Comprising local, national and international talent, Melbourne Victory is hoping the squad will improve on Victory-s performances in the first two seasons of the Westfield W-League, where they just missed the finals on both occasions.

Melbourne Victory CEO, Geoff Miles, is excited about the season commencing.

“We are looking forward to an exciting third season for Melbourne Victory-s Westfield W-League team. We have brought in a number of new and exciting players, and combined with a wealth of local talent, we are looking forward to a successful season ahead,” Miles said.

The squad comprises Westfield Matildas captain Melissa Barbieri, and experienced campaigners Louisa Bisby, Marlies Oostdam and Maika Ruyter-Hooley. Bendigo local, Ruyter-Hooley and Barbieri are the only players in the squad to have played in every W-League match since the league started. While keeping a core group of players from last season, the club has also injected new and exciting talent into the team, including American Sky Blue midfielder Kendall Fletcher, English import Jodie Taylor, former Canberra United player Snez Valjanovska and former Young Matilda Amy Jackson.

Melbourne Victory coach, Vicki Linton, is delighted that the squad has come together so well in such a short amount of time.

“We identified a number of areas where we were lacking in the squad from last season, and I-m pleased that we have been able to bring together a squad that we believe has a strong chance of making the finals this season,” Linton said.

Linton was also excited about the group of young local talent she has in the team, including Under 17 Young Matildas- Stephanie Catley, Caitlin Friend, Ashley Brown and Brianna Davey. Davey is the youngest player in the squad and she will provide great support to Barbieri.

“Victoria has some very talented female footballers coming through the talented player pathway, I-m looking forward to watching them develop as the season goes on, and I am confident they will be able to step up to the challenge of competing in national league football,” Linton said.

Season three of the Westfield W-League kicks off on Saturday November 6, however Melbourne Victory have a bye in the first round and will kick off their season the following weekend, Saturday November 13 against Sydney FC in Morwell at Latrobe City Stadium, kick off is 7pm. The fixture coincides with the Victorian Champions League third and final Gala Weekend, where four of the VCL zones will compete in a round-robin-style tournament over the weekend.

To view the 2010/2011 Westfield W-League fixture, please click here.

To take advantage of Melbourne Victory-s dual membership offer, please click here.

2010/2011 Westfield W-League Melbourne Victory squad: 1. Melissa BARBIERI, 2. Rita MANKOWSKA, 3. Marlies OOSTDAM, 5. Louisa BISBY, 6. Maika RUYTER-HOOLEY, 7. Snez VELJANOVSKA, 8. Ella MASTRANTONIO, 9. Stephanie CATLEY, 10. Jodie TAYLOR, 11. Kendall FLETCHER, 12. Amy JACKSON, 13. Ashley BROWN, 15. Deanna NICESKI, 16. Gulcan KOCA, 17. Caitlin FRIEND, 18. Ursula HUGHSON, 19. Enza BARILLA, 20. Brianna DAVEY.