Preview: 2020/21 Victory Medal

Victory medal

Melbourne Victory’s 2020/21 A-League season will conclude tonight, Saturday 12 June, with the hosting of the Victory Medal, proudly presented by Bluestar Global Logistics.

This year’s event will be held behind closed doors due to the current COVID restrictions in place across Melbourne.

Past winners of the award include Archie Thompson, Kevin Muscat, Carl Valeri, Danny Allsopp and Leigh Broxham.

While the Club will present Victory Medal awardees, the Club and the players are in no way celebrating how the team has fared this season.

Coverage of the recipients will be posted on the Club’s website and social media channels from 7pm.

How the Medal is awarded

After each match throughout the season, Victory’s A-League coaches have been awarding points to the three best-performing players. 

One point to third place, two to second place and three to the player of the match. These points are awarded win, lose or draw.

The points are accumulated after the final round of fixtures and a recipient is awarded the Victory Medal at the awards night.

Other awards

Goal of the season, Players’ Player, Young Player and the Golden Boot will also be awarded on the night.

Victory Medal honour roll:

2005/06 – Kevin Muscat
2006/07 – Kevin Muscat and Danny Allsopp
2007/08 – Archie Thompson and Rodrigo Vargas
2008/09 – Kevin Muscat and Danny Allsopp
2009/10 – Archie Thompson
2010/11 – Grant Brebner
2011/12 – Ante Covic
2012/13 – Mark Milligan
2013/14 – Adama Traore
2014/15 – Fahid Ben Khalfallah
2015/16 – Matthieu Delpierre
2016/17 – Carl Valeri
2017/18 – Leroy George
2018/19 – Leigh Broxham
2019/20 – Leigh Broxham