Preview: Beijing FC v Victory

Beijing FC

Melbourne Victory’s AFC Champions League campaign will restart on Tuesday night, with the first of back-to-back games against Chinese Super League side, Beijing FC.


Victory picked up three points in its first Group E game back in February – defeating Chiangrai United 1-0 at Melbourne Rectangular Stadium.

FC Seoul handed Victory its first defeat of the 2020 competition a week later in South Korea.

With a host of new arrivals since then, Grant Brebner is tasked with preparing the squad for four fixtures in 10 days.

Victory will be without Robbie Kruse who continues to recover from injury, but has been joined in Doha by loan signings Ben Folami and Dylan Ryan.

The tie against Beijing will be Brebner’s first competitive game in charge since being appointed permanent Head Coach.

The opposition

Beijing climbed to the top of the group with a 2-1 win over FC Seoul on Saturday.

Brazilian striker Alan scored the winner for Beijing who currently sit on six points from two games.

Beijing arrived in Doha shortly after the completion of the 2020 Chinese Super League season – where it suffered a semi-final defeat at the hands of Guangzhou Evergrande.

The resulting third-place play-off was won by Beijing, 3-2 on aggregate, against a strong Shanghai SIPG side.


Melbourne faced Beijing twice in 2010, competing in two closely-fought battles in Group E.

ACL Group Stage 2010: Beijing FC 1 – 0 Victory at Workers Stadium
ACL Group Stage 2010: Victory 0 – 0 Beijing FC at Marvel Stadium

As it stands

A win for Melbourne would enhance its chances of progression to the knock-out stages.

Whereas three points for Beijing would move it onto nine points – further cementing its claim for the top spot.

Match details

Beijing FC v Melbourne Victory
Jassim bin Hamad Stadium, Doha
Tuesday, November 24, 2020
Kick-off: 9.00pm AEDT
Broadcast: Fox Sports & Kayo Sport

Melbourne Victory squad: Matthew ACTON (gk), Aaron ANDERSON, Nick ANSELL, Jay BARNETT, Marko BULIC (gk), Jacob BUTTERFIELD, Jacob BRIMMER, Leigh BROXHAM, Max CROCOMBE (gk), Ben FOLAMI, Gianluca IANNUCCI, Elvis KAMSOBA, Birkan KIRDAR, Brandon LAUTON, Luis LAWRIE- LATTANZIO, So NISHIKAWA, Callum MCMANAMAN, Marco ROJAS, Storm ROUX, Dylan RYAN, Adama TRAORE, Joshua VARGA

Unavailable: Robbie KRUSE (knee)