Preview: Round 24 v Glory


Melbourne Victory is looking to extend its unbeaten run when it visits Perth Glory in the Hyundai A-League.


Victory is on a five-match unbeaten streak heading into Sunday’s Round 24 clash at nib Stadium.

After its thrilling AFC Champions League win over J1 League champion Kawasaki Frontale, Victory beat the Central Coast Mariners 5-2.

A Besart Berisha hat-trick and strikes from Leroy George and Christian Theoharous saw Victory to the comprehensive win.

Berisha took his tally in the league this season to 12 goals and five assists, while George has six goals and 13 assists.

The win saw Victory rise into third on the table with four regular-season games remaining.

Berisha has scored 16 goals against Perth Glory – no player in Hyundai A-League history has netted more against a single club.

Victory has won its past three matches against Glory, which is eighth on the table and four points outside the top six heading into ‘Harmony Round’.

However, the visitor will be without James Troisi, who is away on Caltex Socceroos duty.

Perth is unbeaten in its past three games, including wins over City and the Mariners.

Player in focus

What they said

“It was such a tough beginning in Melbourne. We tried, it’s not like we didn’t want it, we tried, but it just didn’t click, it didn’t work out, but now it really feels like enjoyable moments we have with the team and in training obviously. We’re travelling to the Champions League, we come back to the A-League and it looks like we want to keep going, we don’t want to stop and that’s good, especially going towards the finals. It’s very important to have this momentum and I think it is important because you don’t have many games in the finals so you have to be ready.” – Victory forward Berisha.

Last time

Hyundai A-League 2017/18 Round 16
Melbourne Victory 3-2 Perth Glory
Saturday, January 13, 2018
AAMI Park, Melbourne

A thrilling clash in Melbourne went the way of Victory when the teams met earlier this year.

After Scott Neville put Glory ahead, George set up goals for Troisi and Mark Milligan.

Diego Castro levelled for the visitor, only for George to assist Kosta Barbarouses’ 90th-minute winner.

Head to head

Round 16, 2017/18: Victory 3-2 Glory at AAMI Park
Round 7, 2017/18: Glory 0-2 Victory at nib Stadium
Round 23, 2016/17: Victory 4-1 Glory at AAMI Park
Round 16, 2016/17: Glory 2-1 Victory at nib Stadium
Round 9, 2016/17: Victory 1-1 Glory at AAMI Park

Match details

Perth Glory v Melbourne Victory
nib Stadium, Perth
4:00 PM (Local) (7:00 PM AEDT)

Referee: Adam Fielding
Assistant Referee 1: Owen Goldrick
Assistant Referee 2: Arvin Shanmuganathan
Fourth Official: Kate Jacewicz
Video Assistant Referee: Eddie Lennie

TV Broadcast: Live coverage on FOX SPORTS 501 from 7.00pm (AEDT) and Sky Sport 3 (New Zealand)

Radio Broadcast: (SWR99.9 and Sport FM Perth). ABC News on Radio, Grandstand Digital, Online & via the ABC Listen App – A-League Live. 

Perth Glory squad: (two to be omitted) 2.Alex GRANT, 4.Shane LOWRY, 7.Joel CHIANESE, 8.Xavi TORRES, 9.Andy KEOGH (c), 13.Nick FEELY (gk), 14.Chris HAROLD, 15.Brandon WILSON, 16.Joseph MILLS, 17.Diego CASTRO, 18.Andreu GUERAO, 20.Jake BRIMMER, 22.Adam TAGGART, 23.Scott NEVILLE, 26.Jacob ITALIANO, 33.Liam REDDY (gk) , 66.Dino DJULBIC, 88.Neil KILKENNY

Ins: 20.Jake BRIMMER (promoted), 33.Liam REDDY (Gk) (returns from suspension), 17.Diego CASTRO (returns from injury)
Outs: 40.Jackson LEE (omitted) 
Unavailable: None

Melbourne Victory squad: (one to be omitted) 1.Matt ACTON (gk), 4.Rhys WILLIAMS, 6.Leigh BROXHAM, 7.Kenny ATHIU, 8.Besart BERISHA, 9.Kosta BARBAROUSES, , 14. Thomas DENG, 16.Josh HOPE, 17.James DONACHIE, 18.Matias SANCHEZ, 19. Pierce WARING, 20.Lawrence THOMAS (gk), 21.Carl VALERI (c), 23.Jai INGHAM, 24.Terry ANTONIS, 31.Christian THEOHAROUS, 41.Leroy GEORGE

Ins: 19. Pierce WARING (promoted), 23.Jai INGHAM (promoted)
Outs: 10.James TROISI (International Duty – 1 week)
Unavailable: 11.Mitch AUSTIN (knee – indefinite)