Preview: Ulsan Hyundai v Victory

Adama Traore

Melbourne Victory takes on South Korea’s Ulsan Hyundai in the AFC Champions League Round of 16 in Qatar on Monday morning (1:00am AEDT).


Victory will be looking to qualify for the quarter-finals of the competition for the first time by beating Ulsan Hyundai in the one-leg tie at Education City Stadium.

Head Coach Grant Brebner led Victory into the knockout stages on Friday with a memorable 2-1 win over FC Seoul, which secured second place in Group E.

Goals from Marco Rojas and Jake Brimmer extended Victory’s stay in the Middle East, adding to the four points gained against Chiangrai United.

Melbourne’s next challenge is to overcome a strong Ulsan side, which progressed from Group F undefeated. 

The opposition

Ulsan has won every game since arriving in Qatar, including two wins over the A-League’s Perth Glory.

Attacking midfielder, Yoon Bit-garam has been firing on all cylinders for the Horangi – scoring four goals in his last four appearances.

Ulsan finished second in the 2020 K League 1 season which concluded in November, securing AFC Champions League football for a fifth consecutive season.

Its campaign was aided by the goalscoring form of Brazilian striker Junior Negrao, who tallied an impressive 26 K League goals.


Victory picked up a point against Ulsan in February 2018, as Leroy George bagged a first-half brace and assisted the third.

ACL Group Stage 2018: Ulsan Hyundai 6 – 2 Melbourne Victory at Ulsan Munsu Football Stadium
ACL Group Stage 2018: Melbourne Victory 3 – 3 Ulsan Hyundai at Melbourne Rectangular Stadium

Match details

Ulsan Hyundai v Melbourne Victory
Education City Stadium, Al Rayyan
Monday, December 7, 2020
Kick-off: 01:00 AEDT
Broadcast: Fox Sports and Kayo Sport

Melbourne Victory squad: Matthew ACTON (gk), Aaron ANDERSON, Nick ANSELL, Jay BARNETT, Marko BULIC (gk), Jacob BUTTERFIELD, Jacob BRIMMER, Leigh BROXHAM, Max CROCOMBE (gk), Ben FOLAMI, Gianluca IANNUCCI, Elvis KAMSOBA, Birkan KIRDAR, Brandon LAUTON, Luis LAWRIE- LATTANZIO, So NISHIKAWA, Callum MCMANAMAN, Marco ROJAS, Storm ROUX, Dylan RYAN, Adama TRAORE, Joshua VARGA

Unavailable: Robbie KRUSE (knee), Rudy GESTEDE

2020/21 membership banner