Report: Wanderers 2-1 Victory


Melbourne Victory finished its Hyundai A-League season with a 2-1 loss to the Western Sydney Wanderers on Wednesday.


Pirmin Schwegler and Jordan O’Doherty scored either side of half-time for the Wanderers at Bankwest Stadium.

Andrew Nabbout pulled a goal back for Victory in the second half, but it was unable to find an equaliser despite pushing late on.

After an even start, Victory goalkeeper Matt Acton made a nice save to tip away a chip from Matthew Jurman in the ninth minute.

Victory squandered a decent chance in the 17th minute after Leigh Broxham intercepted a pass and Birkan Kirdar set up Elvis Kamsoba, who was unable to make the most of the opportunity.

A pair of good tackles by James Donachie set up Victory’s next chance, Luis Lawrie-Lattanzio firing straight at Wanderers goalkeeper Tristan Prendergast from 30 yards.

After Simon Cox forced a save from Acton with a header, Schwegler opened the scoring with a well-placed effort from 20 yards in the 34th minute.

Schwegler went close again seven minutes into the second half, Acton tipping his corner over the crossbar.

Western Sydney doubled its lead after the hour-mark, O’Doherty putting away a cross from Mitchell Duke.

However, Victory pulled one back in the 66th minute through Nabbout.

Lleyton Brooks played in Broxham, whose cross was scuffed by Lawrie-Lattanzio to allow Nabbout to tap in.

Nabbout had an effort ruled out for offside before Joshua Varga, 18, came on for his Hyundai A-League debut, but Victory fell short in its push for a second goal.

Player in focus

Key moment


Hyundai A-League 2019/20
Western Sydney Wanderers 2
(Pirmin Schwegler 34′, Jordan O’Doherty 62′)
Melbourne Victory 1 (Andrew Nabbout 66′)

Western Sydney Wanderers: Prendergast (gk); McGowan, Ziegler, Jurman (Mourdoukoutas 54′); Russell (Kamau 71′), Baccus, Schwegler (Sullivan 71′), Cordier; O’Doherty (Grozos 82′); Duke (c), Cox (Adam 54′).
Melbourne Victory: Acton (gk); Roux (Basha 54′), Anderson, Donachie, Traore (Nishikawa 87′); Barnett, Broxham (c); Kamsoba (Brooks 54′), Kirdar (Varga 87′), Lawrie-Lattanzio (Lauton 74′); Nabbout.

Yellow cards: Jurman 20′, Cordier 22′, Schwegler 30′, Lawrie-Lattanzio 32′, Anderson 49′
Red cards: Nil
Venue: Bankwest Stadium

2020/21 membership banner