Round 11 preview: City v Victory


Melbourne Victory faces City in a blockbuster Hyundai A-League Derby clash at AAMI Park on Saturday.

Click here to buy tickets for the Christmas Derby


Victory goes into the encounter on the back of a hard-fought 0-0 draw with the Wellington Phoenix.

It played the final half-hour against Wellington with 10 men, holding on after Kristijan Dobras’ red card.

The result saw Victory goalkeeper Lawrence Thomas secure his 27th clean sheet in the Hyundai A-League.

Thomas drew level with Michael Theo for most clean sheets for Victory in the league, having already managed four this season.

Victory has collected nine points from its opening 10 games of the campaign as it looks for improvement in the Derby.

While Victory has won 12 and lost nine of the previous 29 Derby matches in the Hyundai A-League, the past three have ended in draws.

Player in focus

Last time

Hyundai A-League 2019/20 Round 1
Melbourne Victory 0-0 City
Saturday, October 12, 2019
Marvel Stadium, Melbourne

The teams could not be separated in the Derby to open their seasons.

Elvis Kamsoba had the ball in the back of the net for Victory, but the effort was ruled out for offside.

As it stands

Head to head

Round 1, 2019/20: Victory 0-0 City at Marvel Stadium
Round 20, 2018/19: Victory 1-1 City at Marvel Stadium
Round 9, 2018/19: City 1-1 Victory at AAMI Park
Round 1, 2018/19: Victory 1-2 City at Marvel Stadium
Round 22, 2017/18: City 1-2 Victory at AAMI Park

Match details

City v Melbourne Victory
AAMI Park, Melbourne
Saturday, December 21, 2019
Kick-off: 5.00pm AEDT

Melbourne Victory squad: 2.Storm ROUX, 3.Corey BROWN, 4.James DONACHIE, 5.Tim HOOGLAND, 6.Leigh BROXHAM, 7.Kenny ATHIU, 8.Jakob POULSEN, 9.Andrew NABBOUT, 10.Robbie KRUSE, 11.Ola TOIVONEN (c), 16.Josh HOPE, 17.Elvis KAMSOBA, 18.Migjen BASHA, 19.Ben CARRIGAN, 20.Lawrence THOMAS (gk), 21.Adama TRAORE, 24.Anthony LESIOTIS, 25.Brandon LAUTON, 26.Jay BARNETT, 50.Brendan WHITE (gk)
**2-4 to be omitted**

Ins: 5.Tim HOOGLAND (promoted), 7.Kenny ATHIU (promoted), 16.Josh HOPE (promoted)
Outs: 22.Kristijan DOBRAS (suspended – 1 week)
Unavailable: 1.Matt ACTON (shoulder), 14.Thomas DENG (groin)

Round 11 tickets