Round 13 preview: Victory v Jets


Melbourne Victory begins 2020 with a Hyundai A-League clash against the Newcastle Jets at AAMI Park on Sunday.


Victory was last in action on December 21, when it recorded an impressive 2-1 win over City in the Derby.

Ola Toivonen scored a brace for Victory, which squandered numerous other opportunities at AAMI Park.

The Swedish star had been dealing with a hip injury and was substituted in the second half before picking up his fifth yellow card of the season, leading to a suspension.

Andrew Nabbout helped set up both of Toivonen’s goals against City, while fellow attackers Robbie Kruse and Elvis Kamsoba also produced lively performances.

Victory has lost just one of its past four games heading into the clash against the Jets.

It is also unbeaten in its four matches at AAMI Park this season, while it has not tasted defeat in its past six games at the ground.

The Jets are winless in four games ahead of the clash and sit bottom of the table.

Round 13 tickets

Player in focus

Last time

FFA Cup 2019 Round of 32
Melbourne Victory 2-3 Newcastle Jets (aet)
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
AAMI Park, Melbourne

Andrew Nabbout’s double had Victory in control after the hour-mark.

However, goals from Johnny Koutroumbis and Dimitri Petratos forced extra-time before Patrick Langlois’ 113th-minute winner.  

As it stands

Head to head

Round of 32, 2019 FFA Cup: Victory 2-3 Jets (aet) at AAMI Park
Round 21, 2018/19: Victory 0-2 Jets at GMHBA Stadium
Round 13, 2018/19: Victory 2-1 Jets at AAMI Park
Round 3, 2018/19: Jets 0-1 Victory at McDonald Jones Stadium
Grand Final, 2017/18: Jets 0-1 Victory at McDonald Jones Stadium

Match details

Melbourne Victory v Newcastle Jets
AAMI Park, Melbourne
Sunday, January 5, 2020
Kick-off: 6.30pm AEDT

Melbourne Victory squad: 2.Storm ROUX, 3.Corey BROWN, 4.James DONACHIE, 5.Tim HOOGLAND, 6.Leigh BROXHAM, 7.Kenny ATHIU, 8.Jakob POULSEN, 9.Andrew NABBOUT, 10.Robbie KRUSE, 16.Josh HOPE, 17.Elvis KAMSOBA, 18.Migjen BASHA, 19.Ben CARRIGAN, 20.Lawrence THOMAS (gk), 21.Adama TRAORE, 22.Kristijan DOBRAS, 24.Anthony LESIOTIS, 25.Brandon LAUTON, 26.Jay BARNETT, 50.Brendan WHITE (gk)
**2-4 to be omitted**

Ins: 7.Kenny ATHIU (promoted), 16.Josh HOPE (promoted), 22.Kristijan DOBRAS (return from suspension) 
Outs: 11.Ola TOIVONEN  (suspended – 1 week)
Unavailable: 1.Matt ACTON (shoulder), 14.Thomas DENG (international duty)

Storm Roux squad